IndyCar »

Texas: Qualifying times

Alex Tagliani was able to edge Dario Franchitti by a hundredth of a second to claim his second consecutive pole position at Texas Motor Speedway.
Bryan Herta Autosport's Alex Tagliani posted a late qualifying lap of 215.691mph (a two-lap aggregate time of 48.5695s) in Friday late afternoon qualifying for the Firestone 550k at Texas Motor Speedway to knock Dario Franchitti off the provisional top position and claim his second consecutive pole in Fort Worth.

1. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 215.691mph 48.5695s
2. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 215.646mph 48.5797s + 0.0102s
3. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 215.554mph 48.6003s + 0.0308s
4. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 215.331mph 48.6507s + 0.0812s
5. #12 Will Power (C) 215.116mph 48.6992s + 0.1297s
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 214.920mph 48.7438s + 0.1743s
7. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 214.701mph 48.7934s + 0.2239s
8. #14 Mike Conway (H) 214.458mph 48.8487s + 0.2792s
(24.4532s/24.3955s) *
9. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 214.424mph 48.8564s + 0.2869s
10. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 214.196mph 48.9085s + 0.3390s
11. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 214.082mph 48.9345s + 0.3650s
12. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 214.060mph 48.9396s + 0.3701s
13. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 213.957mph 48.9632s + 0.3937s
14. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 213.949mph 48.9650s + 0.3955s
15. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 213.927mph 48.9699s + 0.4004s
16. #5 EJ Viso (C) 213.444mph 49.0807s + 0.5112s
17. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 213.402mph 49.0904s + 0.5209s
18. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 212.833mph 49.2217s + 0.6522s
19. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 212.136mph 49.3834s + 0.8139s
20. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 211.643mph 49.4984s + 0.9289s
21. #19 James Jakes (H) 211.245mph 49.5917s + 1.0222s
22. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 210.543mph 49.7570s + 1.1875s
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 204.066mph 51.3364s + 2.7669s
(25.6985s/25.6379s) *
24. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 202.596mph 51.7089s + 3.1394s
25. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) No Time *

* denotes a 10-place grid penalty for unscheduled engine change
H = Honda, C = Chevrolet, L = Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Pole Winner Alex Tagliani and the Bryan Herta Autosport team (c) 2012 Michael L. Levitt LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Alex Tagliani watches the on-track action during Friday Practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 20. [Picture credit: Dana Garrett for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Graham Rahal Detroit
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.