IndyCar »

Texas: Race results

A stunning race gave Justin Wilson his first oval race victory in the IZOD IndyCar Series at Texas Motor Speedway, after a late mistake by Scott Dixon.
Justin Wilson is finally an oval winner in the IZOD IndyCar Series, after driving a superb race in the tricky night time conditions at Texas Motor Speedway to clinch victory in the Firestone 550 on Saturday night.

Wilson was in strong contention for most of the night, even before a late spin by longtime race leader Scott Dixon, a penalty for Will Power and a late error by Graham Rahal opened the gates to victory lane for him.

Race results

1. #18 Justin Wilson Honda 1:59:02.0131s (228 laps)
2. #38 Graham Rahal Honda + 3.9202
3. #2 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet + 5.8619
4. #27 James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet + 10.4511
5. #4 JR Hildebrand Chevrolet + 18.7749
6. #77 Simon Pagenaud Honda + 21.3883
7. #3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet + 1 lap
8. #12 Will Power Chevrolet + 1 lap
9. #98 Alex Tagliani Honda + 1 lap
10. #19 James Jakes Honda + 1 lap
11. #11 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet + 1 lap
12. #20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 1 lap
13. #67 Josef Newgarden Honda + 2 laps
14. #10 Dario Franchitti Honda + 3 laps
15. #6 Katherine Legge Chevrolet + 4 laps
16. #14 Mike Conway Honda + 4 laps
17. #26 Marco Andretti Chevrolet + 6 laps


18. #9 Scott Dixon Honda 173 laps (Contact)
19. #5 EJ Viso Chevrolet 129 laps (Mechanical)
20. #22 Oriol Servia Chevrolet 89 laps (Mechanical)
21. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 66 laps (Mechanical)
22. #15 Takuma Sato Honda 63 laps (Contact)
23. #83 Charlie Kimball Honda 29 laps (Contact)
24. #8 Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet 0 laps (Did not start)
25. #78 Simona de Silvestro Lotus 0 laps (Did not start)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power loses the lead when he receives a drive through penalty during the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, USA. June 9 2012. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon leads the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, USA. June 9 2012. (c) 2012, Phil Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Justin Wilson burnout after winning the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, USA. June 9 2012. (c) 2012, Phil Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Graham Rahal Detroit
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.