IndyCar »

Milwaukee: Practice 2 times

Dale Coyne Racing's Justin Wilson was top in the 75-minute second practice session on Friday afternoon ahead of this weekend's Milwaukee IndyFest.
Last week's race winner Justin Wilson was the fastest man in the Friday afternoon practice session at the Milwaukee Mile, his lap of 22.1744s (164.785mph) just 0.0694s ahead of the same duo that had topped the morning practice, Josef Newgarden and Helio Castroneves.

Rubens Barrichello continued to show strongly on his first outing on a short oval in IndyCar, following up his sixth place in first practice with the same position again in the afternoon with a time of 22.4185s (162.990mph) less than a quarter of a second off Wilson's top time.

Many of the fastest laps were set very early in the session, with teams spending the rest of the time on race distance set-up runs and running close-up and side-by-side, although speeds rose again as track temperatures dipped late in the running allowing James Hinchcliffe (seventh), Ryan Hunter-Reay (tenth) and Takuma Sato (11th) to post late improvements that bumped Wilson's Dale Coyne Racing team mate James Jakes out of the top ten.

For a second consecutive session there were no incidents or caution flags, and once again 21 cars were within one second of the top time. Qualifying follows at 4pm local time (10pm BST).

Practice 2 times

1. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 164.785mph 22.1744s (52 laps)
2. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 164.270mph 22.2438s + 0.0694s (48 laps)
3. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 163.927mph 22.2904s + 0.1160s (62 laps)
4. #5 EJ Viso (C) 163.370mph 22.3664s + 0.1920s (43 laps)
5. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 163.330mph 22.3719s + 0.1975s (61 laps)
6. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 162.990mph 22.4185s + 0.2441s (75 laps)
7. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 162.863mph 22.4360s + 0.2616s (61 laps)
8. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 162.687mph 22.4603s + 0.2859s (60 laps)
9. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 162.558mph 22.4781s + 0.3037s (57 laps)
10. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 162.515mph 22.4841s + 0.3097s (66 laps)
11. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 162.385mph 22.5021s + 0.3277s (65 laps)
12. #19 James Jakes (H) 162.140mph 22.5361s + 0.3617s (61 laps)
13. #12 Will Power (C) 161.645mph 22.6051s + 0.4307s (64 laps)
14. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 161.536mph 22.6203s + 0.4459s (46 laps)
15. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 160.586mph 22.7542s + 0.5798s (44 laps)
16. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 160.550mph 22.7592s + 0.5848s (70 laps)
17. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 160.470mph 22.7706s + 0.5962s (66 laps)
18. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 160.114mph 22.8212s + 0.6468s (68 laps)
19. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 158.916mph 22.9933s + 0.8189s (44 laps)
20. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 158.761mph 23.0157s + 0.8413s (59 laps)
21. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 158.130mph 23.1076s + 0.9332s (58 laps)
22. #14 Mike Conway (H) 157.986mph 23.1286s + 0.9542s (51 laps)
23. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 157.007mph 23.2729s + 1.0985s (66 laps)
24. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 156.703mph 23.3180s + 1.1436s (53 laps)
25. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 156.649mph 23.3261s + 1.1517s (64 laps)

Total Laps: 1464
(H)=Honda, (C)=Chevrolet, (L)=Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Justin Wilson in the #18 Sonny`s Barbecue Dale Coyne Racing Honda during pre-season testing at Sebring. March 2012. [Photo Credit: Michael Levitt - LAT for IndyCar Media]
Justin Wilson, Dreyer & Reinbold driver of the #22 car in 2011
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
James Davison
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Jay Howard Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 3
Fernando Alonso IndyCar practice 2
Fernando Alonso IndyCar practice

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.