IndyCar »

Milwaukee: Qualifying times

Dario Franchitti pulled out a stunning qualifying effort to take pole position for Saturday's Milwaukee IndyFest, where he will start alongside Ryan Hunter-Reay.
2011 Milwaukee race winner Dario Franchitti bounced back from a poor showing in the earlier practice session to claim pole position for the Milwaukee IndyFest with a blistering qualifying effort of 43.3100s (168.737mph).

That put him 0.1157s ahead of Justin Wilson who was second fastest, but who will start from 12th place because of a penalty for an unscheduled engine change. That promotes Ryan Hunter-Reay into second place alongside Franchitti on the front row.

With fourth-fastest man Will Power also hit by a grid penalty, that leaves the second row an all-Brazilian affair with Rubens Barrichello shining on the first short oval of the season in third alongside Helio Castroneves, who recorded the second-fastest single lap speed of the afternoon (168.584mph) on his first circulation but then had to back off dramatically on the second after getting loose and hitting the engine rev limiter.

Qualifying at Milwaukee utilised the traditional oval qualification format: each driver going out in a pre-set order to run one warm-up lap followed by two qualifying laps that together provide the average lap speed and total combined aggregate time. The session ran incident-free.

As well as Wilson and Power, Scott Dixon, Mike Conway, Takuma Sato, Josef Newgarden and now also Ryan Briscoe will also all have ten-place starting grid penalties for engine changes since last week's race in Texas.

Qualifying times

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 168.737mph 43.3100s
2. #18 Justin Wilson * (H) 168.287mph 43.4257s + 0.1157s
3. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 167.911mph 43.5231s + 0.2131s
4. #12 Will Power * (C) 167.361mph 43.6661s + 0.3561s
5. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 166.899mph 43.7869s + 0.4769s
6. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 166.763mph 43.8228s + 0.5128s
7. #67 Josef Newgarden * (H) 166.699mph 43.8396s + 0.5296s
8. #5 EJ Viso (C) 166.066mph 44.0066s + 0.6966s
9. #2 Ryan Briscoe * (C) 166.031mph 44.0158s + 0.7058s
10. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 165.915mph 44.0466s + 0.7366s
11. #9 Scott Dixon * (H) 165.726mph 44.0968s + 0.7868s
12. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 165.369mph 44.1920s + 0.8820s
13. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 165.312mph 44.2072s + 0.8972s
14. #15 Takuma Sato * (H) 165.285mph 44.2146s + 0.9046s
15. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 164.893mph 44.3196s + 1.0096s
16. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 164.321mph 44.4740s + 1.1640s
17. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 164.198mph 44.5073s + 1.1973s
18. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 163.866mph 44.5975s + 1.2875s
19. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 163.516mph 44.6930s + 1.3830s
20. #19 James Jakes (H) 162.020mph 45.1055s + 1.7955s
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 161.079mph 45.3691s + 2.0591s
22. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 160.375mph 45.5681s + 2.2581s
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 160.308mph 45.5872s + 2.2772s
24. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 160.115mph 45.6422s + 2.3322s
25. #14 Mike Conway * (H) 159.794mph 45.7338s + 2.4238s

* denotes a ten-place grid penalty to be added
(H)=Honda, (C)=Chevrolet, (L)=Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
3-4 September, 2010, Sparta, Kentucky USA #10 Dixie Target Chip Ganassi Racing`s Dario Franchitti.
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Justin Wilson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) celebrates pole at Long Beach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.