IndyCar »

Milwaukee: Race results

Ryan Hunter-Reay claimed victory with a perfect second-half drive at the Milwaukee Mile on Saturday afternoon, after an hour and a half wait for the start because of rain.
For Ryan Hunter-Reay, the wait was worth it: after the 225-lap Milwaukee IndyFest got underway 90 minutes late because of a heavy shower that passed through the area just before the race was scheduled to start, the Andretti Autosport driver didn't put a foot wrong all afternoon once he popped up in the lead soon after midway.

Hunter-Reay - who won here in CART eight years ago in 2004 - patiently bided his time despite starting on the front row of the grid, and didn't lead the race until lap 142. But once he did, he was immovable from the top spot - and went on to lead the remaining 84 laps to the chequered flag ahead of KV Racing's Tony Kanaan and Hunter-Reay's Andretti team mate James Hinchliffe in third.

Early leader Dario Franchitti fell back and ultimately crashed on lap 193 after a suspected suspension failure. Josef Newgarden retired early with fuel pick-up problems, Justin Wilson and JR Hildebrand both had engine failures, Simona de Silvestro spun out on lap 62 and Takuma Sato did likewise on lap 107 collecting James Jakes on his way to the wall as he did so.

A controversial restart penalty for Scott Dixon wrecked the Ganassi driver's early charge and thwarted his hopes of challenging Hunter-Reay at the end.

Race results

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 1:52:17.8119s (225 laps)
2. #11 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet + 9.8940s
3. #27 James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet + 10.0782s
4. #22 Oriol Servia Chevrolet + 12.1105s
5. #5 EJ Viso Chevrolet + 5.1029s
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet + 7.2715s
7. #98 Alex Tagliani Honda + 13.8178s
8. #20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 14.3764s
9. #38 Graham Rahal Honda + 24.2642s
10. #8 Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet + 12.3440s
11. #9 Scott Dixon Honda + 12.7396s
12. #12 Will Power Chevrolet + 13.3395s
13. #77 Simon Pagenaud Honda + 1 lap
14. #2 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet + 1 lap
15. #26 Marco Andretti Chevrolet + 1 lap
16. #14 Mike Conway Honda + 1 lap
17. #83 Charlie Kimball Honda + 1 lap
18. #6 Katherine Legge Chevrolet + 5 laps


19. #10 Dario Franchitti Honda on lap 193 Contact
20. #15 Takuma Sato Honda on lap 107 Contact
21. #19 James Jakes Honda on lap 106 Contact
22. #4 JR Hildebrand Chevrolet on lap 105 Mechanical
23. #18 Justin Wilson Honda on lap 93 Mechanical
24. #78 Simona de Silvestro Lotus on lap 62 Contact
25. #67 Josef Newgarden Honda on lap 48 Mechanical

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter-Reay #28 Team DHL Sun Drop Citrus Soda Andretti Autosport during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012 Dan R. Boyd LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay (#28) celebrates with a raised fist as he takes the chequered flag at the Milaukee IndyFest - Wisconsin, 16 June. (c) 2012, F. Peirce Williams LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Victory Lane: Tony Kanaan (2nd), Ryan Hunter-Reay (1st), James Hinchcliffe (3rd)  at the Milaukee IndyFest - Wisconsin, 16 June (c) 2012, Phillip G Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.