IndyCar »

Iowa: Practice 1 times

Marco Andretti and Josef Newgarden topped the practice times on Friday morning, looking strong right from the start ahead of the innovative 'heats' qualifying format at Iowa.
Marco Andretti made the running early in first practice at Iowa Speedway, and finished top of the timesheets with a lap of 17.4126s (184.832mph), just 0.0332s faster than Josef Newgarden. Less than a tenth of a second covered the top six, and 24 of the 25 cars were well within a second of Andretti's fastest lap.

There were no incidents requiring caution flags during the 45 minute session on the 0.875-mile asphalt tri-oval track in Newton, Iowa.

The second practice session follows at 2.30pm local time (8.30pm BST). The order at the end of practice will then determine the make up of the 'heat' races that take place starting from 6.15pm local time (12.15am BST).

Practice 1 times

1. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 184.832mph 17.4126s (56 laps)
2. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 184.480mph 17.4458s + 0.0332s (50 laps)
3. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 184.179mph 17.4743s + 0.0617s (36 laps)
4. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 184.124mph 17.4795s + 0.0669s (63 laps)
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 183.800mph 17.5103s + 0.0977s (34 laps)
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 183.786mph 17.5117s + 0.0991s (55 laps)
7. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 183.695mph 17.5203s + 0.1077s (39 laps)
8. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 183.562mph 17.5330s + 0.1204s (61 laps)
9. #12 Will Power (C) 183.541mph 17.5350s + 0.1224s (70 laps)
10. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 182.845mph 17.6018s + 0.1892s (61 laps)
11. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 182.422mph 17.6426s + 0.2300s (40 laps)
12. #14 Mike Conway (H) 182.336mph 17.6509s + 0.2383s (41 laps)
13. #5 EJ Viso (C) 181.984mph 17.6851s + 0.2725s (30 laps)
14. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 181.909mph 17.6924s + 0.2798s (50 laps)
15. #19 James Jakes (H) 181.846mph 17.6985s + 0.2859s (36 laps)
16. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 181.776mph 17.7053s + 0.2927s (38 laps)
17. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 181.474mph 17.7348s + 0.3222s (62 laps)
18. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 180.852mph 17.7958s + 0.3832s (42 laps)
19. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 180.662mph 17.8145s + 0.4019s (35 laps)
20. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 180.462mph 17.8342s + 0.4216s (40 laps)
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 180.018mph 17.8782s + 0.4656s (49 laps)
22. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 179.474mph 17.9324s + 0.5198s (28 laps)
23. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 179.077mph 17.9722s + 0.5596s (49 laps)
24. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 178.001mph 18.0808s + 0.6682s (39 laps)
25. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 172.087mph 18.7022s + 1.2896s (37 laps)

Total Laps: 1141

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marco Andretti. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Marco Andretti #26 Team RC Cola Andretti Autosport during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012 Dan R. Boyd, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Alex Rossi, Indy 500 [Credit: IndyCar]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport [credit: Walter Kuhn]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport [credit: Chris Owens]
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Chris Jones]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi [credit: IndyCar Series]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.