IndyCar »

Iowa: Practice 2 times

Marco Andretti booked his way into the top eight pole shootout qualifying heat at Iowa, alongside championship favourites Will Power, James Hinchcliffe and Dario Franchitti.
Marco Andretti confirmed that he's the man to beat today at Iowa Speedway, as he put in a lap of 186.041mph (17.2994s) on just his eighth time around the 0.875-mile oval track on Friday afternoon in second practice.

No one could match him, although Dario Franchitti put in a surprise late effort to go second just 0.0304s off Marco's time. That means that both men will compete in the third and final qualifying heat on Friday evening which will set the front four rows of the grid for Saturday night's race.

The order at the end of practice now determines the make up of the 'heat' races that take place starting from 6.15pm local time (12.15am BST). The Iowa Corn Indy 250 itself takes place on Saturday at 9pm local time (3am BST Sunday morning.)

Practice 2 times

1. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 186.041mph 17.2994s (43 laps)
2. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 185.715mph 17.3298s + 0.0304s (57 laps)
3. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 185.713mph 17.3300s + 0.0306s (20 laps)
4. #12 Will Power (C) 185.512mph 17.3487s + 0.0493s (24 laps)
5. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 185.383mph 17.3608s + 0.0614s (28 laps)
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 184.824mph 17.4133s + 0.1139s (47 laps)
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 184.727mph 17.4225s + 0.1231s (34 laps)
8. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 184.634mph 17.4312s + 0.1318s (55 laps)
9. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 184.591mph 17.4353s + 0.1359s (45 laps)
10. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 184.391mph 17.4542s + 0.1548s (61 laps)
11. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 184.315mph 17.4614s + 0.1620s (45 laps)
12. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 184.148mph 17.4772s + 0.1778s (54 laps)
13. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 184.072mph 17.4845s + 0.1851s (44 laps)
14. #5 EJ Viso (C) 183.972mph 17.4940s + 0.1946s (39 laps)
15. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 183.781mph 17.5121s + 0.2127s (59 laps)
16. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 183.467mph 17.5421s + 0.2427s (39 laps)
17. #19 James Jakes (H) 183.225mph 17.5653s + 0.2659s (48 laps)
18. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 183.101mph 17.5772s + 0.2778s (45 laps)
19. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 182.912mph 17.5953s + 0.2959s (48 laps)
20. #14 Mike Conway (H) 182.585mph 17.6269s + 0.3275s (47 laps)
21. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 181.993mph 17.6842s + 0.3848s (54 laps)
22. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 181.820mph 17.7010s + 0.4016s (37 laps)
23. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 181.086mph 17.7728s + 0.4734s (62 laps)
24. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 180.714mph 17.8094s + 0.5100s (62 laps)
25. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 175.269mph 18.3626s + 1.0632s (57 laps)

Total laps: 1154

Heat 1
Will set positions 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 and 24 on the grid.

1. Graham Rahal
2. Josef Newgarden
3. EJ Viso
4. JR Hildebrand
5. Oriol Servia
6. Mike Conway
7. Ed Carpenter
8. Takuma Sato

Heat 2
Will set positions 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 25 on the grid.

1. Rubens Barrichello
2. Alex Tagliani
3. Justin Wilson
4. Tony Kanaan
5. James Jakes
6. Charlie Kimball
7. Simon Pagenaud
8. Katherine Legge
9. Simona de Silvestro

Heat 3
Will set positions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 on the grid.

1. Marco Andretti
2. Dario Franchitti
3. Helio Castroneves
4. Will Power
5. Ryan Briscoe
6. James Hinchcliffe
7. Ryan Hunter-Reay
8. Scott Dixon

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marco Andretti. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Marco Andretti #26 Team RC Cola Andretti Autosport during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012 Dan R. Boyd, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [credit: Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.