IndyCar »

Iowa: Race results

Ryan Hunter-Reay claimed his second consecutive win in 2012, with victory at Iowa coming hard on the heels of his win at Milwaukee last weekend.
Andretti Autosport confirmed that they are the team of the moment in the IZOD IndyCar Series when it comes to ovals, following up last weekend's win at Milwaukee with a second consecutive victory for Ryan Hunter-Reay this week at Iowa, and likely only missing out on a 1-2-3 lock-out because of a late crash for James Hinchcliffe.

Hunter-Reay won ahead of last year's Iowa winner Marco Andretti with Tony Kanaan picking up third under a safety car triggered by a spin from Katherine Legge at the end of a rain-delayed night race on the 0.875-mile oval, Hunter-Reay having overhauled longtime race leader Scott Dixon who had been attempting a different fuel strategy in order to challenge to the win until the closing laps. Dixon ended up in fourth.

Simon Pagenaud had an astounding run in only his fourth oval outing in his IndyCar rookie season, running thrilling side-by-side battles with Justin Wilson and Tony Kanaan in the final stages to finish in fifth place after starting dead last. Another rookie, Rubens Barrichello, also did well to hold off a late charging Ed Carpenter and finish seventh behind another former race leader, Helio Castroneves.

It was a costly night for many of the points leaders: as well as Hinchcliffe's late spin, Will Power crashed with EJ Viso on lap 67 and Ryan Briscoe got taken out by Josef Newgarden while in the lead on lap 178. Oriol Servia retired with fire damage from a refuelling spill, and polesitter Dario Franchitti didn't even make it to the green flag before his engine went up in smoke.

Race results

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport (C) 1:43:39.3031s (250 laps)
2. #26 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport (C) + 0.1103s
3. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) + 2.7245s
4. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) + 3.0075s
5. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton (H) + 3.8468s
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) + 5.3061s
7. #8 Rubens Barrichello KV Racing (C) + 5.9890s
8. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing (C) + 6.9856s
9. #38 Graham Rahal Ganassi (H) + 7.1607s
10. #18 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing (H) + 1 lap
11. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) + 2 laps
12. #15 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan (H) + 3 laps
13. #19 James Jakes Dale Coyne Racing (H) + 5 laps
14. #78 Simona de Silvestro HVM Racing (L) + 6 laps


#6 Katherine Legge Dragon Racing (C) on lap 243 Contact
#98 Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Autosport (H) on lap 207 Mechanical
#27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport (C) on lap 195 Contact
#2 Ryan Briscoe Penske (C) on lap 178 Contact
#67 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing (H) on lap 178 Contact
#14 Mike Conway AJ Foyt Racing (H) on lap 123 Mechanical
#22 Oriol Servia Panther/DRR (C) on lap 98 Mechanical
#4 JR Hildebrand Panther (C) on lap 95 Contact
#12 Will Power Penske (C) on lap 67 Contact
#5 EJ Viso KV Racing (C) on lap 67 Contact
#10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) on lap 0 Mechanical

(H)=Honda, (C)=Chevrolet, (L)=Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay leads Tony Kanaan in the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Newton, Iowa 23 June (c) 2012 Phillip Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay celebrates in Victory Lane after the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Newton, Iowa 23 June (c) 2012 Brett Moist LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

moggsie - Unregistered

June 24, 2012 9:34 PM

Only got into Indy as i have followed Rubens Barrichello for 19 years in F1. Well worth it for sure as i not only get to see my long time 'hero' still enjoying racing but now get very excited watching Indy. Will keep watching fr sure!

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.