The first IZOD IndyCar Series practice session of 2012 on the 1.75-mile, 11-turn temporary circuit street circuit in Toronto was interrupted early, when Justin Wilson suffered a stuck throttle as he exited pit lane which snapped him into the back of the parked car of Sebastien Bourdais.

That injured several crew members: an ambulance was called to take Dragon Racing's Chuck Homan to the local St Michael's Hospital with a leg injury while another Dragon crew member was transported separately to the hospital for further evaluation of an ankle injury. Another member of the Dragon personnel together with one of the Dale Coyne pit crew were treated in the infield care centre for minor injuries and quickly released.

Wilson's car needed front end repairs and Bourdais' car had rear wing problems as a result, but both cars were later able to take part in the session. Wilson would probably have preferred it if he hadn't: he was also involved in the final red flag incident of the day when he came upon the spun car of Alex Tagliani as he sped out of the blind turn 8. Wilson had to react to avoid the Bryan Herta Autosport car, and the #18 Dale Coyne Racing car went into the tyre barrier.

The session had been structured into two half hour stints, with rookies and those outside the top ten able to run in the first half and then all cars able to run in the second. Dreyer & Reinbold's Oriol Servia ending up top of the Group A times with a lap of 1:01.6708s, but he was soon pushed down the running order as the likes of Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Tony Kanaan and the Penske trio of Will Power, Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves all put in early quick runs. EJ Viso was also pushing hard, as evidenced by a number of run-offs.

Josef Newgarden had a frustrating session, sidelined while the team tried to nail down a problem with the car's fuel pump.

Practice 1 times

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 103.749mph 1m 00.8972s (14 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 103.673mph 1m 00.9415s + 0.0443s (13 laps)
3. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 103.489mph 1m 01.0500s + 0.1528s (20 laps)
4. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 103.481mph 1m 01.0548s + 0.1576s (14 laps)
5. #12 Will Power (C) 103.444mph 1m 01.0764s + 0.1792s (14 laps)
6. #5 EJ Viso (C) 103.368mph 1m 01.1214s + 0.2242s (15 laps)
7. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 103.191mph 1m 01.2260s + 0.3288s (14 laps)
8. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 103.154mph 1m 01.2480s + 0.3508s (12 laps)
9. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 102.865mph 1m 01.4202s + 0.5230s (15 laps)
10. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 102.830mph 1m 01.4414s + 0.5442s (18 laps)
11. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 102.790mph 1m 01.4653s + 0.5681s (15 laps)
12. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 102.674mph 1m 01.5347s + 0.6375s (20 laps)
13. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 102.512mph 1m 01.6317s + 0.7345s (15 laps)
14. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 102.357mph 1m 01.7253s + 0.8281s (22 laps)
15. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 102.023mph 1m 01.9272s + 1.0300s (14 laps)
16. #14 Mike Conway (H) 101.984mph 1m 01.9506s + 1.0534s (19 laps)
17. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 101.968mph 1m 01.9605s + 1.0633s (12 laps)
18. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 101.957mph 1m 01.9673s + 1.0701s (15 laps)
19. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 101.900mph 1m 02.0021s + 1.1049s (19 laps)
20. #19 James Jakes (H) 101.851mph 1m 02.0316s + 1.1344s (23 laps)
21. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 101.584mph 1m 02.1949s + 1.2977s (17 laps)
22. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 101.541mph 1m 02.2212s + 1.3240s (25 laps)
23. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 101.145mph 1m 02.4649s + 1.5677s (26 laps)
24. #18 Justin Wilson (H) No time (3 laps)
25. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) No time (0 laps)

Total Laps: 394


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment