The second hour-long IZOD IndyCar Series practice session in Toronto got off to the same start as the earlier one had - with an immediate red flag caused by Josef Newgarden stalling on his first lap out on track, the earlier fuel pressure pick-up issues on the #67 apparently still unresolved.

Once the session resumed, Takuma Sato led the timesheets early with a lap of 1:00.8783s already faster than the best time of practice 1, with drivers slow to venture out in the hot and humid conditions onto the 1.75-mile, 11-turn temporary circuit street circuit for the first 25 minutes. Finally more cars emerged and first Justin Wilson and then Dario Franchitti went top, Franchitti setting a new benchmark of 1:00.2786s for the others to chase.

A second red flag came out at the midway point after Graham Rahal got sideways at the exit of turn 6 and some debris was left on the track although the #38 was undamaged. A third brief red followed sooner after, when EJ Viso ran into the tyres at turn 3 and stalled the engine; Viso was also one of several drivers having trouble successfully navigating turn 8 during the session, with an off there for Wilson bringing out the fourth red flag with five minutes to go.

Franchitti remained on top despite lightly clipping the wall in a late run, but in the final minutes sportscar ace Simon Pagenaud leapt into second place just 0.1118s behind, with Scott Dixon also pipping Wilson for third, giving Honda the top four spots ahead of a trio of Team Penske cars. Local hero James Hinchcliffe sat out the session entirely, after engineers found some unexpected water in the engine exhaust of the #27 car.

Practice 2 times

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 104.813mph 1m 00.2786s (11 laps)
2. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 104.619mph 1m 00.3904s + 0.1118s (15 laps)
3. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 104.357mph 1m 00.5423s + 0.2637s (16 laps)
4. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 104.174mph 1m 00.6485s + 0.3699s (15 laps)
5. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 104.097mph 1m 00.6936s + 0.4150s (13 laps)
6. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 104.083mph 1m 00.7017s + 0.4231s (15 laps)
7. #12 Will Power (C) 103.946mph 1m 00.7817s + 0.5031s (13 laps)
8. #14 Mike Conway (H) 103.849mph 1m 00.8381s + 0.5595s (14 laps)
9. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 103.785mph 1m 00.8760s + 0.5974s (14 laps)
10. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 103.781mph 1m 00.8783s + 0.5997s (16 laps)
11. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 103.693mph 1m 00.9297s + 0.6511s (11 laps)
12. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 103.679mph 1m 00.9382s + 0.6596s (13 laps)
13. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 103.579mph 1m 00.9972s + 0.7186s (13 laps)
14. #19 James Jakes (H) 103.527mph 1m 01.0277s + 0.7491s (13 laps)
15. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 103.500mph 1m 01.0437s + 0.7651s (13 laps)
16. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 103.461mph 1m 01.0666s + 0.7880s (14 laps)
17. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 103.362mph 1m 01.1248s + 0.8462s (20 laps)
18. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 103.352mph 1m 01.1308s + 0.8522s (21 laps)
19. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 103.325mph 1m 01.1471s + 0.8685s (22 laps)
20. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.258mph 1m 01.1863s + 0.9077s (15 laps)
21. #5 EJ Viso (C) 103.126mph 1m 01.2646s + 0.9860s (15 laps)
22. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 102.789mph 1m 01.4655s + 1.1869s (15 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 101.594mph 1m 02.1890s + 1.9104s (20 laps)
24. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) No time (0 laps)
25. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) No time (0 laps)