Very wet conditions greeted the IZOD IndyCar Series drivers at the start of the final hour-long practice session ahead of Saturday afternoon qualifying, but while the track was drenched at least the rain itself had pretty much eased off, and the track was able to dry off as the session progressed.

Once again, Sarah Fisher Hartman's Josef Newgarden was the cause of a brief early red flag when he spun on the wet track in turn 11 and stalled the car, but fortunately without contacting the barrier. At the resumption, Ryan Hunter-Reay caused a second red flag when he promptly came to a stop in turn 8 and narrowly avoided being collected by an incoming EJ Viso.

But after that the session ran remarkably smoothly, with no more stoppages required on the 1.75-mile, 11-turn temporary circuit street circuit. Predictably the best laps came toward the end of the session when the track was at its driest, with Scott Dixon not even venturing out until six laps from the end but still managing to set the best time of the session with a lap of 1:00.3841s.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was just under one hundredths of a second down on Dixon's time when the chequered flag came out at the end of practice, with Simon Pagenaud once again impressing with the third fastest time just ahead of championship leader Will Power.

Practice 3 times

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 104.630mph 1m 00.3841s (6 laps)
2. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 104.613mph 1m 00.3940s + 0.0099s (21 laps)
3. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 104.246mph 1m 00.6065s + 0.2224s (23 laps)
4. #12 Will Power (C) 104.231mph 1m 00.6151s + 0.2310s (16 laps)
5. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 103.986mph 1m 00.7582s + 0.3741s (19 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 103.896mph 1m 00.8110s + 0.4269s (10 laps)
7. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 103.890mph 1m 00.8141s + 0.4300s (25 laps)
8. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 103.851mph 1m 00.8372s + 0.4531s (19 laps)
9. #14 Mike Conway (H) 103.748mph 1m 00.8973s + 0.5132s (20 laps)
10. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 103.725mph 1m 00.9111s + 0.5270s (18 laps)
11. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 103.614mph 1m 00.9762s + 0.5921s (23 laps)
12. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 103.587mph 1m 00.9925s + 0.6084s (20 laps)
13. #5 EJ Viso (C) 103.485mph 1m 01.0524s + 0.6683s (17 laps)
14. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 103.326mph 1m 01.1460s + 0.7619s (19 laps)
15. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.168mph 1m 01.2397s + 0.8556s (20 laps)
16. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.099mph 1m 01.2811s + 0.8970s (27 laps)
17. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 102.976mph 1m 01.3543s + 0.9702s (20 laps)
18. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.972mph 1m 01.3562s + 0.9721s (27 laps)
19. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 102.949mph 1m 01.3702s + 0.9861s (24 laps)
20. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 102.911mph 1m 01.3930s + 1.0089s (6 laps)
21. #19 James Jakes (H) 102.799mph 1m 01.4600s + 1.0759s (22 laps)
22. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 102.629mph 1m 01.5618s + 1.1777s (20 laps)
23. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 102.598mph 1m 01.5800s + 1.1959s (7 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 100.955mph 1m 02.5826s + 2.1985s (12 laps)
25. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 93.707mph 1m 07.4226s + 7.0385s (5 laps)

Total Laps: 446