IndyCar »

Toronto - Practice 3

Wet conditions in Toronto made for a tricky start to Saturday's practice session, with the best runs coming at the end when Scott Dixon pipped Ryan Hunter-Reay by 0.0099s.
Very wet conditions greeted the IZOD IndyCar Series drivers at the start of the final hour-long practice session ahead of Saturday afternoon qualifying, but while the track was drenched at least the rain itself had pretty much eased off, and the track was able to dry off as the session progressed.

Once again, Sarah Fisher Hartman's Josef Newgarden was the cause of a brief early red flag when he spun on the wet track in turn 11 and stalled the car, but fortunately without contacting the barrier. At the resumption, Ryan Hunter-Reay caused a second red flag when he promptly came to a stop in turn 8 and narrowly avoided being collected by an incoming EJ Viso.

But after that the session ran remarkably smoothly, with no more stoppages required on the 1.75-mile, 11-turn temporary circuit street circuit. Predictably the best laps came toward the end of the session when the track was at its driest, with Scott Dixon not even venturing out until six laps from the end but still managing to set the best time of the session with a lap of 1:00.3841s.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was just under one hundredths of a second down on Dixon's time when the chequered flag came out at the end of practice, with Simon Pagenaud once again impressing with the third fastest time just ahead of championship leader Will Power.

Practice 3 times

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 104.630mph 1m 00.3841s (6 laps)
2. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 104.613mph 1m 00.3940s + 0.0099s (21 laps)
3. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 104.246mph 1m 00.6065s + 0.2224s (23 laps)
4. #12 Will Power (C) 104.231mph 1m 00.6151s + 0.2310s (16 laps)
5. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 103.986mph 1m 00.7582s + 0.3741s (19 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 103.896mph 1m 00.8110s + 0.4269s (10 laps)
7. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 103.890mph 1m 00.8141s + 0.4300s (25 laps)
8. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 103.851mph 1m 00.8372s + 0.4531s (19 laps)
9. #14 Mike Conway (H) 103.748mph 1m 00.8973s + 0.5132s (20 laps)
10. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 103.725mph 1m 00.9111s + 0.5270s (18 laps)
11. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 103.614mph 1m 00.9762s + 0.5921s (23 laps)
12. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 103.587mph 1m 00.9925s + 0.6084s (20 laps)
13. #5 EJ Viso (C) 103.485mph 1m 01.0524s + 0.6683s (17 laps)
14. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 103.326mph 1m 01.1460s + 0.7619s (19 laps)
15. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.168mph 1m 01.2397s + 0.8556s (20 laps)
16. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.099mph 1m 01.2811s + 0.8970s (27 laps)
17. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 102.976mph 1m 01.3543s + 0.9702s (20 laps)
18. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.972mph 1m 01.3562s + 0.9721s (27 laps)
19. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 102.949mph 1m 01.3702s + 0.9861s (24 laps)
20. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 102.911mph 1m 01.3930s + 1.0089s (6 laps)
21. #19 James Jakes (H) 102.799mph 1m 01.4600s + 1.0759s (22 laps)
22. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 102.629mph 1m 01.5618s + 1.1777s (20 laps)
23. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 102.598mph 1m 01.5800s + 1.1959s (7 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 100.955mph 1m 02.5826s + 2.1985s (12 laps)
25. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 93.707mph 1m 07.4226s + 7.0385s (5 laps)

Total Laps: 446

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Scott Dixon [Picture Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Bret Kelley]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.