IndyCar »

Toronto - Qualifying times

Dario Franchitti pipped Will Power to pole position for the Honda Indy Toronto, posting a lap of 59.3510s (106.451mph) on the 1.75-mile, 11-turn street circuit.
Ganassi's Dario Franchitti will start from pole position for Sunday's Honda Indy Toronto street race after posting a late lap of 59.3510s (106.451mph). That ended up being 0.0247s faster than Penske's Will Power, who will start alongside him on the front row.

Justin Wilson rebounded from a terrible day in practice on Friday to top the second round of qualifying with the day's best lap of 59.0663s (106.964mph) and went on to claim third place in the Firestone Fast Six pole shootout, to put him alongside Sebastien Bourdais on the second row of the grid.

Franchitti's team mate Scott Dixon also made it into the pole shootout. Alex Tagliani also made it through and qualified in sixth place but has a ten-place starting grid penalty for an engine change. That will bump Ryan Hunter-Reay up to start alongside Dixon from sixth place. Hunter-Reay's Andretti Autosport team mate and local hero James Hinchcliffe qualified in ninth position but has his own engine penalty to serve after the team made an unapproved change to the Chevrolet unit.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan's Takuma Sato ended up in 11th place in the Round 2 timings, after his two fastest laps were deleted for blocking Will Power's qualifying lap when he came back on track after running off. An unhappy Sato described the penalty as "harsh". EJ Viso had earlier suffered the same punishment for a similar infringement in Round 1 in a brutally tough Group 2.

Qualifying times

Round 1 Group 1

1. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 106.241mph 59.4684s (4 laps)
2. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 106.176mph 59.5046s + 0.0362s (7 laps)
3. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 105.957mph 59.6279s + 0.1595s (7 laps)
4. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 105.891mph 59.6649s + 0.1965s (5 laps)
5. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 105.375mph 59.9572s + 0.4888s (7 laps)
6. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 105.370mph 59.9597s + 0.4913s (6 laps)
7. #14 Mike Conway (H) 105.174mph 1:00.0718s + 0.6034s (7 laps)
8. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 105.027mph 1:00.1557s + 0.6873s (7 laps)
9. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 104.515mph 1:00.4508s + 0.9824s (7 laps)
10. #19 James Jakes (H) 104.354mph 1:00.5440s + 1.0756s (6 laps)
11. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 104.135mph 1:00.6709s + 1.2025s (6 laps)
12. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 103.517mph 1:01.0333s + 1.5649s (6 laps)

Round 1 Group 2

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 106.136mph 59.5274s (6 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 106.056mph 59.5724s + 0.0450s (6 laps)
3. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 105.981mph 59.6144s + 0.0870s (5 laps)
4. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 105.862mph 59.6816s + 0.1542s (6 laps)
5. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 105.561mph 59.8516s + 0.3242s (7 laps)
6. #12 Will Power (C) 105.542mph 59.8620s + 0.3346s (7 laps)
7. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 105.319mph 59.9888s + 0.4614s (7 laps)
8. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 105.299mph 1:00.0004s + 0.4730s (6 laps)
9. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 105.088mph 1:00.1207s + 0.5933s (7 laps)
10. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 104.942mph 1:00.2043s + 0.6769s (7 laps)
11. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 104.915mph 1:00.2199s + 0.6925s (7 laps)
12. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 104.232mph 1:00.6145s + 1.0871s (6 laps)
13. #5 EJ Viso (C) 101.042mph 1:02.5280s + 3.0006s (5 laps)

Round 2 - Top 12

1. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 106.964mph 59.0663s (6 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 106.727mph 59.1978s + 0.1315s (4 laps)
3. #12 Will Power (C) 106.573mph 59.2829s + 0.2166s (5 laps)
4. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 106.505mph 59.3212s + 0.2549s (6 laps)
5. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 106.443mph 59.3554s + 0.2891s (4 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 106.337mph 59.4145s + 0.3482s (5 laps)
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 106.215mph 59.4829s + 0.4166s (6 laps)
8. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 106.100mph 59.5476s + 0.4813s (6 laps)
9. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 106.014mph 59.5958s + 0.5295s (6 laps)
10. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 105.891mph 59.6650s + 0.5987s (5 laps)
11. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 105.617mph 59.8197s + 0.7534s (6 laps)
12. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 105.481mph 59.8966s + 0.8303s (6 laps)

Round 3 - Firestone Fast Six

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 106.451mph 59.3510s (5 laps)
2. #12 Will Power (C) 106.407mph 59.3757s + 0.0247s (5 laps)
3. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 106.272mph 59.4506s + 0.0996s (6 laps)
4. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 106.235mph 59.4721s + 0.1211s (6 laps)
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 106.159mph 59.5140s + 0.1630s (6 laps)
6. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 106.075mph 59.5616s + 0.2106s (4 laps)

Overall qualifying order

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) Ganassi
2. #12 Will Power (C) Team Penske
3. #18 Justin Wilson (H) Dale Coyne Racing
4. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) Dragon Racing
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) Ganassi
6. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) Bryan Herta Autosport *
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) Andretti Autosport
8. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) Team Penske
9. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) Andretti Autosport *
10. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsport
11. #15 Takuma Sato (H) Rahal Letterman Lanigan
12. #38 Graham Rahal (H) Ganassi
13. #14 Mike Conway (H) AJ Foyt Racing
14. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) Team Penske
15. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) Ganassi
16. #22 Oriol Servia (C) Dreyer & Reinbold
17. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) Panther
18. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) KV Racing Technology
19. #19 James Jakes (H) Dale Coyne Racing
20. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) KV Racing Technology
21. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) HVM Racing *
22. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) Ed Carpenter Racing
24. #26 Marco Andretti (C) Andretti Autosport
25. #5 EJ Viso (C) KV Racing Technology

* denotes will serve ten-place grid penalty for engine changes

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dario Franchitti in the Ganassi pit area before heading out for practice on the streets of Toronto. July 2011. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Steve - Unregistered

July 08, 2012 12:37 AM

How unfortunate for Hinchcliffe & Tagliani. The 2 Canadians on the grid and both of them taking 10-place grid penalties. Gonna be tough for them to win tomorrow and it'd be nice to see a hometown win, especially for Hinch.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.