IndyCar »

Toronto - Sunday warm-up

Scott Dixon was fastest in the morning warm-up practice session, the last chance for the IndyCar drivers to get out on track before the afternoon Honda Indy Toronto.
Scott Dixon finished top of the timesheets in the Sunday morning warm-up practice, his laptime of 50.9117s (105.455mph) a slender 0.0073s faster than Simon Pagenaud in second place. In all, the top 18 cars all ran within one second of each other on the 1.75-mile, 11-turn Toronto street circuit.

Ryan Hunter-Reay took to the run-off in turn 3 early in the session after making contact with the rear of Will Power's car. Hunter-Reay was able to keep the engine running and get back underway without bringing out the red flags, but had some right-front damage for the pit crew to attend to; Penske needed to check damage to Power's rear wing assembly.

After that the session looked set to run without any red flags, but a late incident for Simona de Silvestro saw the HVM hit an object - apparently a tyre dislodged from the tyre barrier - and ended up in the wall with left-side damage at turn 2. That caused a lengthy red flag stoppage and allowed the cars only a very short reprise out on track before the chequered flag came out.

De Silvestro is one of three drivers already served with a ten-place grid penalty for engine changes, along with the two Canadian drivers Alex Tagliani and James Hinchcliffe. A fourth driver - Dale Coyne Racing's James Jakes - was added to that list after needing to replace his engine overnight.

The race is due to start at 1pm local time, 6pm BST.

Sunday warm-up times

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 105.455mph 59.9117s(20 laps)
2. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 105.442mph 59.9190s + 0.0073s (16 laps)
3. #14 Mike Conway (H) 105.358mph 59.9670s + 0.0553s (17 laps)
4. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 105.353mph 59.9699s + 0.0582s (15 laps)
5. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 105.192mph 1m 00.0617s + 0.1500s (17 laps)
6. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 105.158mph 1m 00.0811s + 0.1694s (19 laps)
7. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 104.875mph 1m 00.2432s + 0.3315s (17 laps)
8. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 104.812mph 1m 00.2796s + 0.3679s (16 laps)
9. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 104.759mph 1m 00.3097s + 0.3980s (19 laps)
10. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 104.669mph 1m 00.3615s + 0.4498s (24 laps)
11. #12 Will Power (C) 104.405mph 1m 00.5144s + 0.6027s (20 laps)
12. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 104.393mph 1m 00.5213s + 0.6096s (20 laps)
13. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 104.375mph 1m 00.5316s + 0.6199s (16 laps)
14. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 104.363mph 1m 00.5389s + 0.6272s (17 laps)
15. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 104.191mph 1m 00.6384s + 0.7267s (18 laps)
16. #19 James Jakes (H) 104.186mph 1m 00.6418s + 0.7301s (20 laps)
17. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 104.038mph 1m 00.7279s + 0.8162s (18 laps)
18. #5 EJ Viso (C) 103.939mph 1m 00.7858s + 0.8741s (18 laps)
19. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 103.646mph 1m 00.9577s + 1.0460s (20 laps)
20. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 103.624mph 1m 00.9705s + 1.0588s (16 laps)
21. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.601mph 1m 00.9840s + 1.0723s (20 laps)
22. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.281mph 1m 01.1732s + 1.2615s (16 laps)
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 103.142mph 1m 01.2553s + 1.3436s (14 laps)
24. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 102.991mph 1m 01.3452s + 1.4335s (16 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 101.877mph 1m 02.0157s + 2.1040s (14 laps)

Total Laps: 443

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Scott Dixon [Picture Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Jay Howard Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 3
Fernando Alonso IndyCar practice 2
Fernando Alonso IndyCar practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.