IndyCar »

Edmonton: Practice 1

Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsports' Simon Pagenaud went to the top of the timesheets following he first hour-long practice session of the Edmonton Indy race weekend.
Simon Pagenaud continued to impress in his first season in the IZOD IndyCar Series, with a lap of 1:16.5391s (104.605) late in the hour-long first practice session at Edmonton sufficient to put him top of the timesheets.

He was 0.3918s ahead of Mike Conway, with Justin Wilson coming up in third. Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing rookie Josef Newgarden, having led for much of the hour-long session, ended up having to settle for fifth place ahead of Ganassi duo Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon.

Practice 1 times

1. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 104.605mph 1m 16.5391s (25 laps)
2. #14 Mike Conway (H) 104.073mph 1m 16.9309s + 0.3918s (21 laps)
3. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 104.017mph 1m 16.9718s + 0.4327s (22 laps)
4. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 103.856mph 1m 17.0914s + 0.5523s (25 laps)
5. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 103.782mph 1m 17.1461s + 0.6070s (16 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 103.712mph 1m 17.1985s + 0.6594s (11 laps)
7. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 103.654mph 1m 17.2414s + 0.7023s (11 laps)
8. #19 James Jakes (H) 103.497mph 1m 17.3587s + 0.8196s (22 laps)
9. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 103.457mph 1m 17.3888s + 0.8497s (24 laps)
10. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.449mph 1m 17.3949s + 0.8558s (23 laps)
11. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 103.439mph 1m 17.4025s + 0.8634s (18 laps)
12. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 103.427mph 1m 17.4110s + 0.8719s (12 laps)
13. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 103.271mph 1m 17.5277s + 0.9886s (22 laps)
14. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 103.139mph 1m 17.6276s + 1.0885s (20 laps)
15. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.129mph 1m 17.6346s + 1.0955s (27 laps)
16. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 103.068mph 1m 17.6804s + 1.1413s (13 laps)
17. #5 EJ Viso (C) 102.942mph 1m 17.7762s + 1.2371s (21 laps)
18. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 102.895mph 1m 17.8111s + 1.2720s (14 laps)
19. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 102.869mph 1m 17.8311s + 1.2920s (15 laps)
20. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 102.816mph 1m 17.8715s + 1.3324s (19 laps)
21. #12 Will Power (C) 102.740mph 1m 17.9286s + 1.3895s (11 laps)
22. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 102.493mph 1m 18.1163s + 1.5772s (10 laps)
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.402mph 1m 18.1858s + 1.6467s (20 laps)
24. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 102.028mph 1m 18.4726s + 1.9335s (14 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 101.477mph 1m 18.8988s + 2.3597s (25 laps)

Total Laps: 461

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The hairpin and long straights at the new configuration circuit at Edmonton City Center Airport. [Photo credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Justin Wilson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.