IndyCar »

Edmonton: Practice 2

Helio Castroneves put himself at the top of the timings in the afternoon practice session at Edmonton, less than three thousandths of a second faster than Scott Dixon.
The big names returned to the top of the timesheets in practice 2, after earlier having had a quiet morning of it at Edmonton City Center Airport. Helio Castroneves went top with a lap of 1:16.4920s just over 15 minutes before the end of the hour-long session, with Scott Dixon slipping into second just 0.0027s behind.

Mike Conway recovered from a technical issue to bound into second just as the chequered flag came out, pushing local heroes James Hinchliffe and Alex Tagliani down to fourth and fifth ahead of Dario Franchitti, in a session broken up by four red flags for minor incidents.

Practice 2 times

1. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 104.670mph 1m 16.4920s (21 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 104.666mph 1m 16.4947s + 0.0027s (20 laps)
3. #14 Mike Conway (H) 104.642mph 1m 16.5122s + 0.0202s (20 laps)
4. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 104.558mph 1m 16.5740s + 0.0820s (22 laps)
5. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 104.453mph 1m 16.6505s + 0.1585s (22 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 104.403mph 1m 16.6875s + 0.1955s (19 laps)
7. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 104.388mph 1m 16.6985s + 0.2065s (22 laps)
8. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 104.377mph 1m 16.7067s + 0.2147s (22 laps)
9. #12 Will Power (C) 104.363mph 1m 16.7168s + 0.2248s (25 laps)
10. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 104.239mph 1m 16.8078s + 0.3158s (22 laps)
11. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 104.219mph 1m 16.8225s + 0.3305s (22 laps)
12. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 104.203mph 1m 16.8350s + 0.3430s (23 laps)
13. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 104.185mph 1m 16.8482s + 0.3562s (25 laps)
14. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 104.115mph 1m 16.8999s + 0.4079s (21 laps)
15. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 104.083mph 1m 16.9230s + 0.4310s (21 laps)
16. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 104.070mph 1m 16.9331s + 0.4411s (16 laps)
17. #5 EJ Viso (C) 104.018mph 1m 16.9715s + 0.4795s (23 laps)
18. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 104.014mph 1m 16.9741s + 0.4821s (22 laps)
19. #19 James Jakes (H) 103.674mph 1m 17.2266s + 0.7346s (21 laps)
20. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 103.646mph 1m 17.2478s + 0.7558s (18 laps)
21. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 103.630mph 1m 17.2593s + 0.7673s (24 laps)
22. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.501mph 1m 17.3555s + 0.8635s (20 laps)
23. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 103.336mph 1m 17.4791s + 0.9871s (17 laps)
24. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.811mph 1m 17.8749s + 1.3829s (15 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 102.743mph 1m 17.9263s + 1.4343s (23 laps)

Total Laps: 526

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves and Marco Andretti on the streets of Sao Paulo. (c) 2012 - Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Justin Wilson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.