IndyCar »

Edmonton: Race results

Helio Castroneves survived sustained pressure from Takuma Sato over the course of the final 16 laps to win a surprisingly caution-free Edmonton Indy.
Careful hoarding of his push-to-pass power boosts early in the race gave Helio Castroneves the means to hold off a hard-charging Takuma Sato for the final 16 laps of the caution-free Edmonton Indy race in Canada at Edmonton City Center Airport on Sunday afternoon.

Alex Tagliani had led for almost two thirds of the race, but struggled on his final set of tyres and dropped back, which allowed Will Power to complete his recovery from 17th on the grid after his engine penalty all the way back to third place. By contrast, Ryan Hunter-Reay could only manage a seventh place finish after claiming pole on Saturday and tarting from 11th following his own grid penalty.

As a result, the IZOD IndyCar Series championship standings are closer than ever, with Hunter-Reay now just 22pts off Castroneves who has moved in front of his Penske team mate Power.

Race results

1. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 1:38:50.9294s (75 laps)
2. #15 Takuma Sato (H) + 0.8367s
3. #12 Will Power (C) + 5.3697s
4. #38 Graham Rahal (H) + 6.9481s
5. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) + 15.2358s
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) + 15.8757s
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) + 21.5357s
8. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) + 23.5311s
9. #18 Justin Wilson (H) + 26.3280s
10. #9 Scott Dixon (H) + 26.6481s
11. #14 Mike Conway (H) + 27.0458s
12. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) + 31.4527s
13. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) + 35.1256s
14. #26 Marco Andretti (C) + 39.8669s
15. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) + 40.8154s
16. #5 EJ Viso (C) + 55.1028s
17. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) + 56.0449s
18. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) + 57.0272s
19. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) + 1:04.8947s *
20. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) + 1 laps
21. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) + 1 laps
22. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) + 1 laps
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) + 2 laps


24. #22 Oriol Servia (C) + 10 laps (Mechanical)
25. #19 James Jakes (H) + 32 laps (Mechanical)

Fastest lap: 77.3629s (103.491mph) on lap 68 by Josef Newgarden (#67)

* includes 30s penalty for causing avoidable contact
(C)=Chevy, (H)=Honda, (L)=Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Winner Helio Castroneves celebrates winning the Edmonton Indy. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Winner Helio Castroneves leads Takuma Sato on the final laps of the Edmonton Indy. (c) 2012, Phil Abbott. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.