Despite the storms that swept over the 2.258-mile, 13-turn Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course permanent road circuit (see separate story), drivers did get to have a shortened and considerably delayed warm-up session on Sunday morning after all. That didn't mean it was necessarily a good idea, however.

Almost two hours after it was due, and scheduled for only 20 minutes instead of half an hour, the session began with officials declaring there to be no standing water on the track itself. However, the session hit an almost immediate red flag just two minutes into proceedings with the #20 car of Ed Carpenter off track at turn 2 and the #27 car of James Hinchcliffe stalled at turn 8

The only driver to have completed a timed lap at this stage was Panther Racing's JR Hildebrand, whose time of 1:50.4158s was painfully slow compared with Will Power's pole position time of 1:05.6474s in the dry the previous day.

Related Articles

Tract activity had barely resumed when Dario Franchitti got into the tyre barrier at turn 6 to cause a second stoppage, with Ed Carpenter also off track again at turn 4 and Oriol Servia spinning off at turn 10. By the time the sundry cars were recovered there was only four minutes track time remaining.

Despite being under the weather in more ways than one, Tony Kanaan immediately improved on Hildebrand's time with a lap of 1:47.1157s which was promptly sliced by over two seconds by Giorgio Pantano contributing a lap of 1:44.8994s. With more cars out and running, a drier line finally started to emerge on the track with the next runners quickly taking the time down another ten seconds.

Ryan Hunter-Reay finally set a session best of 1:32.8638s after the chequered flag came out, ahead of Will Power and Tony Kanaan. HVM's Simona de Silvestro posted the fourth fastest time. The only car not to set a flying lap was the #22 of Oriol Servia. The session concluded with Ed Carpenter's third off of the session, this time at turn 6.

Sunday warm-up times

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 87.535mph 1m 32.8638s (5 laps)
2. #12 Will Power (C) 85.950mph 1m 34.5754s + 1.7116s (5 laps)
3. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 85.776mph 1m 34.7683s + 1.9045s (5 laps)
4. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 85.739mph 1m 34.8087s + 1.9449s (4 laps)
5. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 85.509mph 1m 35.0640s + 2.2002s (6 laps)
6. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 84.676mph 1m 35.9987s + 3.1349s (5 laps)
7. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 84.535mph 1m 36.1593s + 3.2955s (5 laps)
8. #19 James Jakes (H) 84.446mph 1m 36.2607s + 3.3969s (3 laps)
9. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 84.187mph 1m 36.5570s + 3.6932s (3 laps)
10. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 84.167mph 1m 36.5799s + 3.7161s (3 laps)
11. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 84.046mph 1m 36.7185s + 3.8547s (3 laps)
12. #14 Mike Conway (H) 83.835mph 1m 36.9616s + 4.0978s (4 laps)
13. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 83.807mph 1m 36.9946s + 4.1308s (4 laps)
14. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 83.537mph 1m 37.3077s + 4.4439s (3 laps)
15. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 83.414mph 1m 37.4508s + 4.5870s (5 laps)
16. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 83.014mph 1m 37.9206s + 5.0568s (3 laps)
17. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 82.782mph 1m 38.1954s + 5.3316s (3 laps)
18. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 82.218mph 1m 38.8686s + 6.0048s (3 laps)
19. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 81.709mph 1m 39.4853s + 6.6215s (5 laps)
20. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 78.777mph 1m 43.1880s + 10.3242s (4 laps)
21. #83 Giorgio Pantano (H) 77.491mph 1m 44.8994s + 12.0356s (3 laps)
22. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 73.620mph 1m 50.4158s + 17.5520s (4 laps)
23. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 73.463mph 1m 50.6521s + 17.7883s (3 laps)
24. #5 EJ Viso (C) 70.444mph 1m 55.3943s + 22.5305s (2 laps)
25. #22 Oriol Servia (C) No time (1 laps)

Total Laps: 94