IndyCar »

Sonoma: Practice 3 times

Ryan Hunter-Reay posted the best time of the Sunday morning warm-up session, with many of the expected front runners for the GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma taking it fairly easy.
Even though Ryan Hunter-Reay has already admitted that Sonoma Raceway is not one of Andretti Autosports' favourite tracks, he did at least have the satisfaction of setting the fastest time in one of the official practice sessions for the GoPro Indy Grand Prix.

His time of 1:19.0645s (108.595mph) was some way off the pace seen on Friday and Saturday and was 0.1404s faster than AJ Foyt Racing's Mike Conway, showing that the field were taking a relatively laid back approach to the 30 minute Sunday morning warm-up, and not wanting to push too hard for fear of technical problems or having unnecessary on-track incidents.

There was however a brief red flag for debris after Charlie Kimball made contact with the tyre barrier at pit exit; and Marco Andretti received a slap on the wrist with a drive-thru penalty for speeding on pit lane.

The IZOD IndyCar Series also published the official starting grid for this afternoon's race which starts at 1.40pm local time (9.40pm BST and shown live in the UK on Sky Sports.) The grid line-up also shows which type of tyre each car will be starting on, with primary being the harder, longer-wearing compound and the alternate "red wall" tyres being the equivalent of F1's gripper option compound.

Practice 3 - Sunday warm-up times

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 108.595mph 1:19.0645s (17 laps)
2. #14 Mike Conway (H) 108.402mph 1:19.2049s + 0.1404s (16 laps)
3. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 108.312mph 1:19.2708s + 0.2063s (16 laps)
4. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 108.213mph 1:19.3437s + 0.2792s (16 laps)
5. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 108.159mph 1:19.3828s + 0.3183s (17 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 107.969mph 1:19.5225s + 0.4580s (20 laps)
7. #12 Will Power (C) 107.909mph 1:19.5674s + 0.5029s (20 laps)
8. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 107.891mph 1:19.5802s + 0.5157s (19 laps)
9. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 107.886mph 1:19.5841s + 0.5196s (18 laps)
10. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 107.864mph 1:19.6002s + 0.5357s (20 laps)
11. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 107.861mph 1:19.6022s + 0.5377s (16 laps)
12. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 107.790mph 1:19.6546s + 0.5901s (14 laps)
13. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 107.606mph 1:19.7909s + 0.7264s (18 laps)
14. #17 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 107.511mph 1:19.8614s + 0.7969s (19 laps)
15. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 107.314mph 1:20.0085s + 0.9440s (12 laps)
16. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 107.291mph 1:20.0256s + 0.9611s (18 laps)
17. #5 EJ Viso (C) 107.281mph 1:20.0325s + 0.9680s (15 laps)
18. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 107.275mph 1:20.0374s + 0.9729s (13 laps)
19. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 107.219mph 1:20.0794s + 1.0149s (16 laps)
20. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 106.870mph 1:20.3408s + 1.2763s (15 laps)
21. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 106.854mph 1:20.3526s + 1.2881s (19 laps)
22. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 106.829mph 1:20.3717s + 1.3072s (16 laps)
23. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 106.782mph 1:20.4067s + 1.3422s (14 laps)
24. #19 James Jakes (H) 106.694mph 1:20.4729s + 1.4084s (15 laps)
25. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 106.523mph 1:20.6023s + 1.5378s (15 laps)
26. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 106.498mph 1:20.6214s + 1.5569s (17 laps)
27. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 105.353mph 1:21.4975s + 2.4330s (17 laps)

Total Laps: 448

Official starting grid

1. #12 Will Power (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
2. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
3. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
4. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) - starting on Primary tyres
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) - starting on Primary tyres
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) - starting on Primary tyres
8. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) - starting on Alternate tyres
9. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) - starting on Primary tyres
10. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
11. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) - starting on Primary tyres
12. #26 Marco Andretti (C) - starting on Primary tyres
13. #38 Graham Rahal (H) - starting on Primary tyres
14. #14 Mike Conway (H) - starting on Primary tyres
15. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
16. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
17. #5 EJ Viso (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
18. #22 Oriol Servia (C) - starting on Primary tyres
19. #6 Katherine Legge (C) - starting on Primary tyres
20. #18 Justin Wilson (H) * - starting on Primary tyres
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) - starting on Primary tyres
22. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) - starting on Primary tyres
23. #17 Sebastian Saavedra (C) * - starting on Primary tyres
24. #19 James Jakes (H) - starting on Primary tyres
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) - starting on Alternate tyres
26. #15 Takuma Sato (H) * - starting on Primary tyres
27. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) * - starting on Primary tyres

* penalised grid positions for unapproved engine changes

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter Reay.(c) 2012, Perry Nelson (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Jay Howard Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 3
Fernando Alonso IndyCar practice 2
Fernando Alonso IndyCar practice
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.