IndyCar »

Baltimore: Practice 2 times

Will Power topped the times in a shortened second practice session in Baltimore, as issues with bumps on the frontstraight continued to be the focus of the day's proceedings.
Penske's Will Power was back in charge and leading the times after the second practice session on Friday afternoon, ahead of this weekend's Grand Prix of Baltimore.

His lap of 1:21.0185s (90.646mph) on the 2.04-mile, 13-turn course temporary street course was almost half a second faster than Simon Pagenaud in second place. There was a brief red flag for smoke coming from the #28 car of Ryan Hunter-Reay, which appeared to be from a minor brake fire.

The session had initially been planned to last for an hour but was reduced to 30 minutes, as problems with a section of the front straightaway had caused the curtailment of the morning practice session after cars were launched into the air over the railroad tracks intersecting the course.

Organisers placed a temporary tyre wall chicane to divert drivers around the problem area. After attempts to grind down the bumps proved unsatisfactory, it was decided that overnight construction work would be undertaken to place a proper chicane in time for Saturday practice and qualifying sessions.

Practice 2 times

1. #12 Will Power (C) 90.646mph 1:21.0185s (14 laps)
2. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 90.123mph 1:21.4883s + 0.4698s (13 laps)
3. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 89.867mph 1:21.7211s + 0.7026s (14 laps)
4. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 89.649mph 1:21.9194s + 0.9009s (13 laps)
5. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 89.644mph 1:21.9236s + 0.9051s (11 laps)
6. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 89.639mph 1:21.9288s + 0.9103s (13 laps)
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 89.532mph 1:22.0263s + 1.0078s (11 laps)
8. #14 Mike Conway (H) 89.444mph 1:22.1075s + 1.0890s (15 laps)
9. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 89.424mph 1:22.1254s + 1.1069s (11 laps)
10. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 89.208mph 1:22.3243s + 1.3058s (14 laps)
11. #5 EJ Viso (C) 89.205mph 1:22.3276s + 1.3091s (11 laps)
12. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 89.177mph 1:22.3529s + 1.3344s (10 laps)
13. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 89.029mph 1:22.4897s + 1.4712s (8 laps)
14. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 88.955mph 1:22.5584s + 1.5399s (13 laps)
15. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 88.907mph 1:22.6031s + 1.5846s (13 laps)
16. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 88.852mph 1:22.6543s + 1.6358s (12 laps)
17. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 88.672mph 1:22.8225s + 1.8040s (13 laps)
18. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 88.575mph 1:22.9129s + 1.8944s (10 laps)
19. #19 James Jakes (H) 88.531mph 1:22.9542s + 1.9357s (13 laps)
20. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 88.362mph 1:23.1126s + 2.0941s (13 laps)
21. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 88.337mph 1:23.1360s + 2.1175s (11 laps)
22. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 88.308mph 1:23.1635s + 2.1450s (10 laps)
23. #67 Bruno Junqueira (H) 87.821mph 1:23.6249s + 2.6064s (17 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 87.580mph 1:23.8550s + 2.8365s (16 laps)
25. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 86.777mph 1:24.6311s + 3.6126s (12 laps)

Total Laps: 311

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power in the #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet during pre-season testing at Sebring. March 2012. [Photo Credit: Michael Levitt - LAT for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon (#9) heads toward the impromptu tire chicane on Pratt Street as seen from the Marriott roof ahead of the Grand Prix of Baltimore. (c) 2012, Jamey Price (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Bret Kelley]
Sebastian Bourdais (KVSH Racing) celebrates in Detroit   [image creid: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Sebastian Bourdais - KVSH Racing   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske Chevrolet [credit: IndyCar/Bret Kelly]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.