IndyCar »

St Petersburg - Practice 2 times

Normal service was resumed in afternoon practice at St Petersburg, as Will Power rose to the top of the timesheets ahead of his chief rival Ryan Hunter-Reay.
Penske's Will Power is used to sweeping the timesheets at IZOD IndyCar Series street and road course events, and while there was a slight stumble in practice 1 at St Peterburg, Florida on Friday morning, normal service was restored in the afternoon as Power's 1:01.4467s put him 0.1785s ahead of reigning champion Ryan Hunter-Reay.

As the 1.8-mile, 14-turn temporary street circuit continued to rubber in and with the warmer mid-70s afternoon temperatures and overcast skies, the second practice quickly saw faster speeds than the earlier session. KV Racing's Simona de Silvestro was immediately ahead of Ryan Hunter-Year's morning benchmark and went on to end the day an impressive third fastest.

It also meant that drivers were pushing harder and harder, with an increasing number of minor incidents as a result: James Jakes had a quick off at turn 8, Justin Wilson rubbed the barrier in turn 14 and Scott Dixon found the run-off at turn 4, while Alex Tagliani and Sebastian Saavedra joined the list of visitors to the turn 10 run-off as they sought the limits of one of the best overtaking place on the circuit.

Josef Newgarden was sidelined with a gearbox issue in the Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing car, but Graham Rahal was looking in ruder health after the Rahal Letterman Lanigan team got to grips with the throttle problem that had left him 20 per cent down in power in the morning.

Practice 2 times

1. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 105.457mph 1:01.4467s (15 laps)
2. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 105.152mph 1:01.6252s + 0.1785s (14 laps)
3. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing (C) 105.042mph 1:01.6895s + 0.2428s (18 laps)
4. #22 Oriol Servià Panther/DRR (C) 104.914mph 1:01.7650s + 0.3183s (16 laps)
5. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 104.905mph 1:01.7703s + 0.3236s (18 laps)
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 104.879mph 1:01.7853s + 0.3386s (13 laps)
7. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 104.84mph 1:01.8087s + 0.362s (16 laps)
8. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 104.51mph 1:02.0039s + 0.5572s (19 laps)
9. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 104.439mph 1:02.0459s + 0.5992s (19 laps)
10. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 104.368mph 1:02.0877s + 0.641s (16 laps)
11. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 104.343mph 1:02.1030s + 0.6563s (20 laps)
12. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 104.325mph 1:02.1134s + 0.6667s (18 laps)
13. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 104.186mph 1:02.1962s + 0.7495s (16 laps)
14. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 103.913mph 1:02.3596s + 0.9129s (24 laps)
15. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 103.909mph 1:02.3622s + 0.9155s (19 laps)
16. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 103.874mph 1:02.3833s + 0.9366s (19 laps)
17. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 103.832mph 1:02.4086s + 0.9619s (19 laps)
18. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 103.819mph 1:02.4166s + 0.9699s (20 laps)
19. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 103.675mph 1:02.5031s + 1.0564s (14 laps)
20. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 103.664mph 1:02.5098s + 1.0631s (20 laps)
21. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 103.629mph 1:02.5305s + 1.0838s (10 laps)
22. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 103.584mph 1:02.5581s + 1.1114s (20 laps)
23. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther (C) 103.011mph 1:02.9057s + 1.459s (15 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 102.626mph 1:03.1420s + 1.6953s (25 laps)
25. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne (H) 101.302mph 1:03.9670s + 2.5203s (16 laps)

Total laps: 439

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter-Reay during practice at St Petersburg, Florida - March 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Tony Kanaan watches from pit wall at St Petersburg, Florida - March 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Helio Castroneves waits in pit road at St Petersburg, Florida - March 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Will Power at St Petersburg, Florida - March 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.