IndyCar »

St Petersburg - Practice 3 times

There was some much-needed good news for the Honda camp in Saturday morning practice, after Takuma Sato topped the times for AJ Foyt Racing.
Takuma Sato set the pace in Saturday morning's practice session, the last opportunity for the drivers to get out on track ahead of this afternoon's qualifying session for the weekend's IZOD IndyCar Series Honda Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

The AJ Foyt Racing driver's lap of 1:01.5293s (105.316mph) was two tenths faster than that of Penske's Will Power, and was a rare glimmer of hope for the teams running Honda engines after Friday had been dominated by the Chevrolet camp.

A change in the track conditions might have helped, with the 1.8-mile, 14-turn temporary street circuit essentially reset by overnight thunderstorms washing away the rubber than had been laid down by the IndyCars and the support races the day before. More rain is possible for qualifying later today.

The session saw the first red flag stoppage of the weekend 20 minutes into the session when Josef Newgarden and Ana Beatriz both ended up in the turn 8 run-off area. Neither the Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing car nor the Dale Coyne entry were damaged in the incident.

However, a few minutes after the session resumed EJ Viso's #5 Andretti Autosport-HVM car made emphatic contact with the concrete barrier on the way into turn 10. "We were just starting the day's practice and the front right suspension failed and went straight to the wall," Viso explained. "I believe it is going to be all OK for qualifying. But I had to stop my run because that happened. I am fine."

Practice 3 times

1. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 105.316mph 1:01.5293s (16 laps)
2. #12 Will Power (C) 104.959mph 1:01.7386s + 0.2093s (18 laps)
3. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 104.690mph 1:01.8971s + 0.3678s (18 laps)
4. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 104.670mph 1:01.9087s + 0.3794s (15 laps)
5. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 104.608mph 1:01.9457s + 0.4164s (17 laps)
6. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 104.536mph 1:01.9880s + 0.4587s (14 laps)
7. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 104.481mph 1:02.0207s + 0.4914s (16 laps)
8. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 104.434mph 1:02.0490s + 0.5197s (22 laps)
9. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 104.351mph 1:02.0981s + 0.5688s (19 laps)
10. #78 Simona de Silvestro (C) 104.321mph 1:02.1157s + 0.5864s (14 laps)
11. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 104.310mph 1:02.1223s + 0.5930s (21 laps)
12. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 104.271mph 1:02.1459s + 0.6166s (18 laps)
13. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 104.205mph 1:02.1850s + 0.6557s (21 laps)
14. #16 James Jakes (H) 104.173mph 1:02.2040s + 0.6747s (16 laps)
15. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 104.084mph 1:02.2576s + 0.7283s (18 laps)
16. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 104.079mph 1:02.2606s + 0.7313s (18 laps)
17. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 104.008mph 1:02.3027s + 0.7734s (13 laps)
18. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.984mph 1:02.3174s + 0.7881s (20 laps)
19. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 103.880mph 1:02.3795s + 0.8502s (14 laps)
20. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 103.857mph 1:02.3936s + 0.8643s (21 laps)
21. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 103.727mph 1:02.4715s + 0.9422s (17 laps)
22. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 103.623mph 1:02.5344s + 1.0051s (14 laps)
23. #5 EJ Viso (C) 102.695mph 1:03.0992s + 1.5699s (5 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 102.587mph 1:03.1658s + 1.6365s (16 laps)
25. #18 Ana Beatriz (H) 102.342mph 1:03.3169s + 1.7876s (17 laps)

Total Laps: 418

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
EJ Viso on the second day of pre-season testing at Barber Motorsport Park. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media.)
Takuma Sato during practice at St Peterburg, Flodica - March 2013, (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.