IndyCar »

IndyCar Long Beach 2013: Race results

The results of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, held on Sunday afternoon on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn temporary street course on the coast of California.
Former F1 driver Takuma Sato became the first Japanese driver to win a race in the IZOD IndyCar Series, with victory in Sunday afternoon's Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

It's AJ Foyt Racing's 44th victory in US open wheel series racing, but the last was back in 2002 at Kansas Speedway with driver Airton Dare; you have to go all the way back to 1978 for the team's last road/street course win, and that was with Foyt himself at Silverstone. Sadly, Foyt himself was absent from Long Beach this weekend while preparing for surgery to relieve ongoing sciatica.

Dario Franchitti led the early stages of the race but fell back after a slow first pit stop and never seemed to recover. Takuma Sato had been running in third before finally getting past the slow Ryan Hunter-Reay on lap 23, after which he was always the man to beat out on track - and at the end of 80 laps, no one had been able to.

Sato was helped in his day's endeavours by several high-profile contenders hitting problems, with both Hunter-Reay and his Andretti Autosport team mate James Hinchcliffe ending their day in pieces in the tyre wall. EJ Viso and Mike Conway were also caught up in the latter incident, while Will Power suffered a pit lane collision with Tristan Vautier that compromised both men's races. AJ Allmendinger also retired mid-race with mechanical issues.

See also: Full race report | Takuma Sato Q&A | Wilson snatches podium | Championship standings

Race results

1. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda 1hrs 50mins 8.7155secs after 80 laps
2. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 5.3612s
3. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 8.2386s
4. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 12.3573s
5. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther Chevrolet + 28.2402s
6 #22 Oriol Servià Panther/DRR Chevrolet + 29.4683s *
7. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 30.2703s
8. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 31.8674s
9. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 33.1224s
10. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 33.4118s
11. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda + 33.6278s
12. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 35.0645s
13. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 35.8945s
14. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne Honda + 36.3442s
15. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 36.5936s
16. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet + 43.0022s
17. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 51.7961s
18. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 56.4533s
19. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA Honda + 1 laps
20. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 2 laps Contact
21. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 2 laps
22. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 27 laps

Did not finish

#2 AJ Allmendinger Penske Chevrolet completed 51 laps Mechanical
#1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet completed 49 laps Contact
#17 Mike Conway RLL Honda completed 38 laps Electrical
#27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet completed 34 laps Contact
#6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet completed 1 laps Contact

* a 30s penalty for causing an avoidable accident with Tony Kanaan on lap 78 was rescinded on appeal

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Takuma Sato driving at Long Beach. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Takuma Sato driving at Long Beach. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Takuma Sato during practice at St Petersburg, Florida - March 2013 (Picture Credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media)
Takuma Sato leads Graham Rahal during the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on Sunday, April 21 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Dario Franchitti leads Ryan Hunter-Reay, Mike Conway, James Hinchcliffe and Takuma Sato to the start of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on Sunday, April 21 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.