Crash.Net IndyCar News

IndyCar Sao Paulo 2013: Practice 2 times

4 May 2013

Will Power comfortably stayed in charge of proceedings in Sao Paulo, the Penske driver topping the timesheets by 0.0758s ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay with EJ Viso a further two tenths of a second further back. Power's best lap time was 1:20.9264s (112.814mph), easily surpassing the qualifying lap record of 1:21.2718s that he set in 2012, with a streamlined remodelling of turns 1 and 2 helping his efforts.

With qualifying coming up just 90 minutes after the end of this second hour-long practice session in Sao Paulo, Brazil, there were more incidents on the 11-turn 2.536-mile temporary street circuit than there had been in the early morning. The first red flag appeared just five minutes in, when Tristan Vautier made contact in turn 5, causing some damage to the front wing of the #55 Schmidt-Peterson car.

Five minutes after the session resumed, it was James Hinchcliffe's turn to trigger a ref flag when the #27 GoDaddy.com Andretti Autosport car went for a minor spin at turn 11 and came to a stop, requiring the safety team to head out to get the car restarted.

Halfway through the session it was Tony Kanaan making contact with the tyre wall at turn 2 that brought out the third red flag of the session, and wont have done his hand injury any favours in the process.

Simon Pagenaud was the only driver to fail to turn a lap in the first half of second practice while the Schmidt screw worked in the damage to the #77 from his early morning crash in turn 2 at the end of the first practice. He did finally get out on track, but was promptly the cause of the fourth caution when the car cruised to a halt down the Sambodrome front straight away. After the car was retrieved, the remaining 12 minutes of the second and final practice session continued without incident to the chequered flag.

Practice 2 times

1. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 112.814mph 1:20.9264s (25 laps)
2. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 112.708mph 1:21.0022s + 0.0758s (19 laps)
3. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 112.403mph 1:21.2222s + 0.2958s (20 laps)
4. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 112.319mph 1:21.2826s + 0.3562s (24 laps)
5. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 112.296mph 1:21.2994s + 0.3730s (21 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 112.158mph 1:21.3993s + 0.4729s (14 laps)
7. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 112.118mph 1:21.4284s + 0.5020s (22 laps)
8. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing (C) 112.107mph 1:21.4362s + 0.5098s (24 laps)
9. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 112.097mph 1:21.4438s + 0.5174s (16 laps)
10. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 111.96mph 1:21.5432s + 0.6168s (15 laps)
11. #22 Oriol Servià Panther/DRR (C) 111.823mph 1:21.6436s + 0.7172s (22 laps)
12. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 111.745mph 1:21.7000s + 0.7736s (17 laps)
13. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 111.734mph 1:21.7085s + 0.7821s (21 laps)
14. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 111.668mph 1:21.7565s + 0.8301s (25 laps)
15. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 111.626mph 1:21.7876s + 0.8612s (17 laps)
16. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 111.582mph 1:21.8194s + 0.8930s (20 laps)
17. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther (C) 111.453mph 1:21.9140s + 0.9876s (15 laps)
18. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 111.439mph 1:21.9250s + 0.9986s (17 laps)
19. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 111.382mph 1:21.9663s + 1.0399s (8 laps)
20. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 111.169mph 1:22.1233s + 1.1969s (21 laps)
21. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 111.156mph 1:22.1334s + 1.2070s (23 laps)
22. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne (H) 111.028mph 1:22.2278s + 1.3014s (20 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 110.672mph 1:22.4926s + 1.5662s (19 laps)
24. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 110.524mph 1:22.6028s + 1.6764s (20 laps)
25. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 110.293mph 1:22.7761s + 1.8497s (10 laps)

Total laps: 475