IndyCar »

IndyCar Sao Paulo 2013: Warm-up times

Graham Rahal took the honours in the short half hour Sunday morning warm-up in Sao Paulo, the last track time for the drivers ahead of today's Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300.
Rahal Letterman Lanigan finished the quiet 30-minute Sunday morning warm-up session on top of the timesheets, courtesy of Graham Rahal's lap of 1:21.2494s (12.365mph) on the 11-turn 2.536-mile temporary circuit on the streets of Sao Paulo in Brazil.

Rahal was just 0.0426s ahead of EJ Viso, one of the drivers who will line up on the front row for the start of Sunday afternoon's Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300, the fourth round of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season. Ganassi's Scott Dixon was third fastest.

Josef Newgarden rebounded from missing out on qualifying while the Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing #67 was fitted with a new Honda engine on Saturday by putting in the fifth fastest time of the warm-up just a tenth adrift of Panther's JR Hildebrand.

While Newgarden needed to shake down his car after its rebuild, most of the field was content to drive well within their capabilities in a relatively relaxed warm-up session. Dixon and Ana Beatriz were among those to have adventures in overrun areas, but there were no major incidents or stoppages.

Today's race starts at 11.30am EST (16.30pm BST).

Sunday warm-up times

1. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 112.365mph 1:21.2494s (18 laps)
2. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 112.306mph 1:21.2920s + 0.0426s (15 laps)
3. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 112.256mph 1:21.3284s + 0.0790s (18 laps)
4. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther (C) 112.170mph 1:21.3911s + 0.1417s (17 laps)
5. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 112.033mph 1:21.4902s + 0.2408s (17 laps)
6. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 111.810mph 1:21.6526s + 0.4032s (21 laps)
7. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing (C) 111.704mph 1:21.7303s + 0.4809s (20 laps)
8. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 111.691mph 1:21.7398s + 0.4904s (17 laps)
9. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 111.635mph 1:21.7811s + 0.5317s (16 laps)
10. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne (H) 111.593mph 1:21.8113s + 0.5619s (19 laps)
11. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 111.544mph 1:21.8472s + 0.5978s (16 laps)
12. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 111.465mph 1:21.9055s + 0.6561s (16 laps)
13. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 111.427mph 1:21.9332s + 0.6838s (20 laps)
14. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 111.302mph 1:22.0254s + 0.7760s (17 laps)
15. #22 Oriol Servià Panther/DRR (C) 111.224mph 1:22.0831s + 0.8337s (19 laps)
16. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 111.211mph 1:22.0929s + 0.8435s (18 laps)
17. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 111.203mph 1:22.0988s + 0.8494s (19 laps)
18. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 111.201mph 1:22.1000s + 0.8506s (18 laps)
19. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 111.182mph 1:22.1138s + 0.8644s (16 laps)
20. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 111.035mph 1:22.2230s + 0.9736s (14 laps)
21. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 111.014mph 1:22.2385s + 0.9891s (13 laps)
22. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 110.730mph 1:22.4492s + 1.1998s (17 laps)
23. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 110.676mph 1:22.4896s + 1.2402s (16 laps)
24. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 110.501mph 1:22.6199s + 1.3705s (16 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 109.621mph 1:23.2833s + 2.0339s (17 laps)

Total laps: 430

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josef Newgarden during Saturday practice for the Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 - May 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
EJ Viso on track during Saturday practice for the Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 - May 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
EJ Viso during Saturday practice for the Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 - May 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Graham Rahal in the cockpit during Saturday practice for the Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 - May 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Graham Rahal Detroit
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
JR Hildebrand, IndyCar, Ed Carpenter Racing
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.