Crash.Net IndyCar News

IndyCar Sao Paulo 2013: Race results

5 May 2013

If you see a better street/road course race that the 2013 Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 anytime soon then you're a very lucky person, because this was a stone-cold cliffhanger classic all the way to the chequered flag.

Ryan Hunter-Reay seemed to have things under control early on, but a puncture forced him to make an unscheduled pit stop from which he was never able to recover. That appeared to open the door for Tony Kanaan to seize the day, to the roar of approval from the understandably biased Brazilian crowd; but it was not to be for Kanaan in his 200th consecutive IndyCar race start, as refuelling problems left the #11 coasting to a halt midrace. Nor was it to be a fourth win out of four Sao Paulo races for Will Power, whose #12 caught fire on lap 17.

Problems for the big names opened the door wide for some of the young guns of the IZOD IndyCar Series to surge through, with AJ Foyt Racing's Takuma Sato emerging as the strongest of the bunch heading into the final 17-lap green flag stint. Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden went with him and did everything he could to get past the Long Beach winner, only to be denied by some unflinching but perfectly legal blocking from the Japanese racer.

Then going into the final lap it was time for James Hinchcliffe to spring his move: having followed up his maiden win at St Pete with two DNFs, the Canadian was determined to get his season back on track here and he made the most of the final run through turn 11 to get critical track position on Sato in the run to the chequered flag to win by 0.3463s, with Marco Andretti beating Oriol Servià to the final podium position as Newgarden waned in the final moments.

Race results

1. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet 2hrs 9mins 34.7383secs after 75 laps
2. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 0.3463s
3. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 1.1376s
4. #22 Oriol Servià Panther/DRR Chevrolet + 1.1745s
5. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 1.6516s
6. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 2.8119s
7. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 3.5961s
8. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 4.2772s
9. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 7.6331s
10. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 9.0265s
11. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet + 9.5135s
12. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA Honda + 10.4393s
13. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 11.1234s
14. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 13.6406s
15. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther Chevrolet + 13.7377s
16. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 14.3517s
17. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 19.8585s
18. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda + 29.4261s
19. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 54.7223s
20. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 2 laps
21. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 3 laps
22. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 4 laps
23. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 4 laps

Did not finish

#12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet Mechanical after 17 laps
#18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne Honda Mechanical after 6 laps

Fastest lap

#11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet 1:20.4364s (113.500mph) on lap 60