IndyCar »

2013 Indy 500: Qualifying draw

The order in which drivers will complete their initial qualifying runs for the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 has been decided by blind draw.
The draw deciding the order in which the 2013 field of drivers will make their qualifying runs at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday has been made.

Comprising all 68 official entries on the official entry list, the first names driver running in their primary car is former Indy 500 winner Scott Dixon who will have the honour of setting the first benchmark effort on Pole Day. The final runner in the first round of qualifying efforts will be Oriol Servia.

Entries without drivers are unlikely to play a part on Saturday but may be a factor on Sunday's Bump Day. Most drivers will likely waive their back-up 'T' car runs.

Qualification laps take the form of four consecutive timed laps in addition to warm-up and cool-down tours, and take place between 11am and 4pm EST. At the end of that time the cars in positions 10 through 24 are fixed while the top nine take part in a ninety minute shootout to decide the front three rows. The back three rows are decided on Sunday, and the chance that if there are more than 33 cars bidding to make the grid then even one of the top 24 could end up being 'bumped' out of the field if times are sufficiently fast.

Qualifying order

1. #40 TBA
2. #9 Scott Dixon Former winner
3. #14 Takuma Sato
4. #15 Graham Rahal
5. #14T Takuma Sato
6. #2 AJ Allmendinger Rookie driver
7. #6T Sebastian Saavedra
8. #91 Buddy Lazier Former winner
9. #8T Ryan Briscoe
10. #78 Simona de Silvestro

11. #83T Charlie Kimball
12. #40T TBA
12A. #60T Townsend Bell
14. #27 James Hinchcliffe
15. #27T James Hinchcliffe
16. #9T Scott Dixon Former winner
17. #41 Conor Daly Rookie driver
18. #3T Helio Castroneves Former winner
19. #16T James Jakes
20. #12T Will Power

21. #7 Sebastien Bourdais
22. #19 Justin Wilson
23. #3 Helio Castroneves Former winner
24. #11T Tony Kanaan
25. #1T Ryan Hunter-Reay
26. #78T Simona de Silvestro
27. #16 James Jakes
28. #99T TBA
29. #5T E.J. Viso
30. #22T Oriol Servia

31. #18T Ana Beatriz
32. #6 Sebastian Saavedra
33. #63 Pippa Mann
34. #60 Townsend Bell
35. #20T Ed Carpenter
36. #5 E.J. Viso
37. #98 Alex Tagliani
38. #12 Will Power
39. #77T Simon Pagenaud
40. #25T Marco Andretti

41. #8 Ryan Briscoe
42. #11 Tony Kanaan
43. #21 Josef Newgarden
44. #55 Tristan Vautier Rookie driver
45. #10 Dario Franchitti Former winner
46. #18 Ana Beatriz
47. #4T JR Hildebrand
48. #19T Justin Wilson
49. #10T Dario Franchitti Former winner

50. #55T Tristan Vautier Rookie driver
51. #83 Charlie Kimball
52. #20 Ed Carpenter
53. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay
54. #17 Michel Jourdain Jr.
55. #26T Carlos Munoz Rookie driver
56. #26 Carlos Munoz Rookie driver
57. #2T AJ Allmendinger Rookie driver
58. #4 JR Hildebrand
59. #25 Marco Andretti
60. #21T Josef Newgarden

61. #98T Alex Tagliani
62. #99 TBA
63. #7T Sebastien Bourdais
64. #41T Conor Daly Rookie driver
65. #77 Simon Pagenaud
66. #15T Graham Rahal
67. #63T Pippa Mann
68. #22 Oriol Servia

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Oriol Servia on the sixth day of practice at Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Thursday May 16, 2013. (Picture Credit: Pete Howard for IndyCar Media)
Ganassi drivers Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti on the fourth day of practice at Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Tuesday May 14, 2013. (Picture Credit: Forrest Mellott for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.