IndyCar »

2013 Indy 500: Race results

Results and top facts and figures from the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 race on Sunday May 26 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
It was the 97th running of the greatest spectacle of motorsport at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, 102 years after the first time that the 500-mile race was staged at the 2.5-mile superpeedway on May 30, 1911 and won by Ray Harroun after a six hour, 43 minute marathon at an average speed of 74.602mph

The 2013 Indy 500 took only two hours and 40 minutes and Tony Kanaan's victory came with an average speed of 187.433mph, which broke Arie Luyendyk previous 1990 record of 185.981mph - and that was just the first of several new records to be shattered by this year's event.

There were 68 lead changes at the line - double the previous record set just last year of 34 - split between 14 different drivers, breaking the previous high of 12 set back in 1993. And with 27 cars making it to the chequered flag, it beat the previous high of 26 which had stood since the very first race in 1911.

Ed Carpenter led the most laps in this year's race (37) and Simon Pagenaud gained the most positions compared with his starting grid position (13, finishing in eighth place.) The fastest lap of the race was 226.940mph set by Justin Wilson on lap 185.

Race results

1. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet 2hrs 40mins 3.4181secs after 200 laps/500 miles

On lead lap under caution:

2. #26 Carlos Munoz * Andretti Autosport Chevrolet
3. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Chevrolet
4. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Chevrolet
5. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet
7. #2 AJ Allmendinger Team Penske Chevrolet
8. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton Honda
9. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda
10. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
11. #22 Oriol Servià Panther/DRR Chevrolet
12. #8 Ryan Briscoe Ganassi Honda
13. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Racing Honda
14. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda
15. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne Racing Honda
16. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt-Peterson Honda
17. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet
18. #5 EJ Viso Andretti Autosport-HVM Chevrolet
19. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet

Off lead lap/retirements:

20. #16 James Jakes Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda + 1 lap
21. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport Chevrolet + 1 lap
22. #41 Conor Daly * AJ Foyt Racing Honda + 2 laps
23. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 3 laps Accident
24. #98 Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Autosport Honda + 4 laps
25. #15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda + 7 laps Accident
26. #81 Katherine Legge Schmidt-Peterseon Honda + 7 laps
27. #60 Townsend Bell Panther Racing Chevrolet + 8 laps
28. #67 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda + 9 laps
29. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Racing Chevrolet + 21 laps Accident
30. #63 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing Honda + 154 laps Contact damage
31. #91 Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Chevrolet + 156 laps Mechanical
32. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Racing Chevrolet + 166 laps Accident
33. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther Racing Chevrolet + 197 laps Accident

Fastest lap:

#11 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda 39.6580s (226.940mph) on lap 185

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The start of the 2013 Indianapolis 500 - Sunday, May 26 2013. (Photo Credit: Walter Kuhn for IndyCar Media)
Ed Carpenter leads at the start of the 2013 Indianapolis 500 - Sunday, May 26 2013. (Photo Credit: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Tony Kanaan celebrates after winning the 2013 Indianapolis 500 - Sunday, May 26 2013. (Photo Credit: Forrest Mellott for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

need4speed - Unregistered

May 27, 2013 12:01 AM

Saw the race on ESPN. Loved every minute of it, what I didnt like were the countless commercial breaks on ESPN. That spoiled it needlessly. Goes without saying - well done Tony1 A well deserved win.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.