Marco Andretti claimed his third pole position in his IZOD IndyCar Series career with a two-lap qualifying time of 42.8584s (an average speed of 170.515mph) on the one-mile Milwaukee Mile.

It was an impressive dominant display by the entire Andretti Autosport team, with all four of their entries set to start Saturday late afternoon's Milwaukee IndyFest race in the top five positions of the grid.

James Hinchcliffe will line-up alongside Marco on the front row having rebounded from glancing the wall in the first of Friday's two practice session and losing track time as a result. He ended up 0.0245s off the pole time with this two-lap run.

Will Power is the only non-Andretti car in the top five, after he put his #12 Penske into third place alongside defending race champion Ryan Hunter-Reay for the start of tomorrow's race.

And EJ Viso put his Andretti-HVM co-entry into fifth place, meaning that he will start from the third row of the grid lining up alongside Sebastian Saavedra who was impressive for Dragon Racing in qualifying.

Qualifying times

1. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 170.515mph 42.8584s
2. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 170.418mph 42.8829s + 0.0245s
3. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 170.212mph 42.9347s + 0.0763s
4. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 170.100mph 42.9629s + 0.1045s
5. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 169.828mph 43.0317s + 0.1733s
6. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 169.732mph 43.0560s + 0.1976s
7. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 169.482mph 43.1196s + 0.2612s
8. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 169.462mph 43.1247s + 0.2663s
9. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 169.311mph 43.1633s + 0.3049s
10. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 169.215mph 43.1877s + 0.3293s
11. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 168.820mph 43.2887s + 0.4303s
12. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 168.470mph 43.3786s + 0.5202s
13. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 168.412mph 43.3935s + 0.5351s
14. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 168.141mph 43.4636s + 0.6052s
15. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 168.023mph 43.4940s + 0.6356s
16. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 167.512mph 43.6267s + 0.7683s
17. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 167.263mph 43.6917s + 0.8333s
18. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 167.169mph 43.7162s + 0.8578s
19. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther (C) 165.765mph 44.0865s + 1.2281s
20. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne (H) 165.364mph 44.1935s + 1.3351s
21. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 164.797mph 44.3455s + 1.4871s
22. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 164.124mph 44.5273s + 1.6689s
23. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 163.230mph 44.7713s + 1.9129s
24. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 162.886mph 44.8658s + 2.0074s


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment