Ryan Hunter-Reay won his second race of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season, together with what was his second consecutive Milwaukee IndyFest event on Saturday afternoon at the Milwaukee Mile.

Hunter-Reay made a play for the lead right at the start only to be thwarted by his team mate, polesitter Marco Andretti. Andretti was ultimately sidelined by electrical problems mid way through the race, while a new threat to Hunter-Reay emerged with Takuma Sato taking a dominant hold on the middle stint of the event thanks to an off-sequence pit strategy.

Once the end was in sight, however, Hunter-Reay showed he had more than enough in reserve to surge into the lead ahead of the Penske duo of Helio Castroneves and Will Power. The pair between them prevented Hunter-Reay from being joined by his Andretti Autosports team mates EJ Viso and James Hinchcliffe on the podium on what had been a strong day for the squad, Marco's electrical issue notwithstanding.

An ill-timed final caution proved an insurmountable setback for Sato who ended up back in seventh place at the chequered flag sandwiched between the two Ganassis of Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti, the last of the eight cars on the lead lap by the finish.

Race results

1. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet 1hrs 51mins 15.2962secs after 250 laps
2. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 4.8059s
3. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet + 5.392s
4. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 6.2511s
5. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet + 6.4632s
6. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda + 16.5292s
7. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 23.3828s
8. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 23.8041s
9. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 1 laps
10. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 1 laps
11. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 1 laps
12. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 1 laps
13. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 2 laps
14. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 2 laps
15. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther Chevrolet + 2 laps
16. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 3 laps
17. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 4 laps
18. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 5 laps
19. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne Honda + 8 laps
20. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 74 laps

Did not finish

#55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 77 laps Mechanical #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 98 laps Mechanical #98 Alex Tagliani BHA Honda + 104 laps Mechanical #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 181 laps Contact

Fastest lap

#1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti 22.4993s 162.405mph on lap 222


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment