IndyCar »

Iowa: Qualifying times

Helio Castroneves set a new track record of 185.687mph (17.3324s) at Iowa Speedway as he topped qualifying for the Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKALB.
Penske Racing's Helio Castroneves set a new track record at the 7/8th-mile Iowa Speedway during qualifying on Saturday afternoon for Sunday's IZOD IndyCar Series race.

Castroneves' lap of 185.687mph (17.3324s) beat the previous single-lap qualifying record of 182.360mph (17.6468s) set six years ago by Scott Dixon.

However, the lap doesn't assure Castroneves pole position as qualifying merely decides how the drivers are divided between three different heat races to be held on Saturday evening.

Heat 1 consists of the even-numbered qualifiers from position 8 downwards, and Heat 2 is made up of those in odd-numbered positions from seventh down. The winners and runners up of the two heats join the top six qualifiers in Heat 3, which sets the front five rows of the grid for Sunday's Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKALB.

The remaining grid positions are set per the finishing order of Heat 1 (which sets the even numbered grid positions from 12th downwards) and Heat 2 (the odd numbered positions from 11th.) And if that doesn't make sense, don't worry - you're not alone! But all should become clear as the heats unfold.

Qualifying times

1 #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 185.687mph 17.3324s (Leader)
2. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 184.766mph 17.4188s + 0.0864s
3. #12 Will Power (C) 184.240mph 17.4685s + 0.1361s
4. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 183.713mph 17.5186s + 0.1862s
5. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 183.236mph 17.5642s + 0.2318s
6. #4 Oriol Servia (C) 183.021mph 17.5849s + 0.2525s
7. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 182.805mph 17.6056s + 0.2732s
8. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 182.506mph 17.6345s + 0.3021s
9. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 182.472mph 17.6378s + 0.3054s
10. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 182.384mph 17.6463s + 0.3139s
11. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 182.270mph 17.6573s + 0.3249s
12. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 182.142mph 17.6697s + 0.3373s
13. #16 James Jakes (H) 182.056mph 17.6781s + 0.3457s
14. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 181.963mph 17.6871s + 0.3547s
15. #5 EJ Viso (C) 181.458mph 17.7363s + 0.4039s
16. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 180.892mph 17.7918s + 0.4594s
17. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 180.481mph 17.8323s + 0.4999s
18. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 180.016mph 17.8784s + 0.5460s
19. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 179.295mph 17.9503s + 0.6179s
20. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 178.578mph 18.0224s + 0.6900s
21. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 178.240mph 18.0566s + 0.7242s
22. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 177.957mph 18.0853s + 0.7529s
23. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 174.689mph 18.4236s + 1.0912s
24. #18 Ana Beatriz (H) No Time

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media.)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.