IndyCar »

Pocono: Open test times 1

Marco Andretti topped the morning test times at Pocono Raceway as IndyCar officially returned to the tri-oval for the first time in 24 years.
Chevrolet cars were once again in the ascendency at an oval venue with all six top spots locked up by the bow tie brigade as the teams and drivers started their official open day of testing at the unique Pocono Raceway 2.5-mile trioval, the 'Tricky Triangle' last visited by the open wheel series back in 1989.

With the day proving sunny, breezy and moderately humid, the start of the morning session was nonetheless delayed awaiting the arrival of the safety helicopter but once underway proceeded without significant incident to the noon day break. Marco Andretti ended up with the fastest time of the morning, his lap of 41.0431s (219.282mph) easily eclipsing the official Indy record for Pocono of 211.715mph by Emerson Fittipaldi 24 years ago.

Justin Wilson caused the only non-inspection yellow when he came to a stop at the end of pit road shortly after testing started. Pippa Mann - Wilson's team mate at Dale Coyne Racing for the weekend - finished slowest in the session 1.3460s off Andretti's time as she eased herself back into the #18 after having only been confirmed in the seat late on Wednesday. Even so, she was still easily under Fittipaldi's long-standing record for the venue.

Open test times 1

1. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 219.282mph 41.0431s (34 laps)
2. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 218.716mph 41.1492s + 0.1061s (42 laps)
3. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 218.128mph 41.2601s + 0.2170s (35 laps)
4. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 217.918mph 41.2999s + 0.2568s (35 laps)
5. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 217.782mph 41.3257s + 0.2826s (47 laps)
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 217.746mph 41.3325s + 0.2894s (47 laps)
7. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 217.519mph 41.3757s + 0.3326s (51 laps)
8. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 217.500mph 41.3794s + 0.3363s (64 laps)
9. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 217.189mph 41.4386s + 0.3955s (44 laps)
10. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 216.938mph 41.4865s + 0.4434s (53 laps)
11. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 216.560mph 41.5590s + 0.5159s (65 laps)
12. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 216.429mph 41.5840s + 0.5409s (30 laps)
13. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 216.250mph 41.6185s + 0.5754s (40 laps)
14. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 215.824mph 41.7007s + 0.6576s (39 laps)
15. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 215.685mph 41.7275s + 0.6844s (28 laps)
16. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 215.552mph 41.7532s + 0.7101s (54 laps)
17. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 215.431mph 41.7768s + 0.7337s (72 laps)
18. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 215.028mph 41.8551s + 0.8120s (46 laps)
19. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 214.830mph 41.8935s + 0.8504s (53 laps)
20. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 214.803mph 41.8989s + 0.8558s (63 laps)
21. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther (C) 214.669mph 41.9250s + 0.8819s (34 laps)
22. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 214.518mph 41.9546s + 0.9115s (57 laps)
23. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 213.540mph 42.1467s + 1.1036s (60 laps)
24. #18 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne (H) 212.319mph 42.3891s + 1.3460s (41 laps)

Total laps: 1134

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marco Andretti at the Pocono Open Test - July 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media.)
Marco Andretti at the Pocono Open Test - July 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media.)
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, McLaren
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.