IndyCar »

Pocono: Open test times 2

Marco Andretti continued to top the afternoon times at Pocono Raceway with times falling fast as IndyCar teams continued their open test at the tri-oval.
Andretti Autosport's Marco Andretti posted the best time of the IZOD IndyCar Series open test at Pocono Racing with a lap of 40.7308s (220.963mph), far faster than the official Indy record for the 2.5-mile tri-oval of 211.715mph by Emerson Fittipaldi in 1989 when the open wheel cars last ran here.

Tony Kanaan posted the second fastest time, as he bids to claim the second race of the 'Triple Crown' series after having previously won the Indianapolis 500 in May. If he can win at Pocono and also clinch the honours at Fontana in October then he would pick up an extra $1 million prize.

Chevrolet continued to claim the honours with their raw speed advantage on an oval with Helio Castroneves (Penske), Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport) packing out the rest of the top five. However, Scott Dixon managed to put Honda's top team Ganassi into six place ahead of the likes of Sebastien Bourdais (Dragon), James Hinchcliffe (Andretti) and Will Power (Penske), while James Jakes was the next-fastest Honda man in tenth for Rahal Letterman Lanigan. Only four drivers (Dario Franchitti, Alex Tagliani, Takuma Sato, Simona de Silvestro) failed to improve their times from the curtailed morning test.

The session was uninterrupted, barring brief track inspections, right until the closing minutes when Graham Rahal brought out a yellow after making contact in turn 1. Although the #15 RLL Racing car continued under its own power and returned to pit lane, the session was effectively over a couple of minutes early.

Open test times 2

1. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 220.963mph 40.7308s (88 laps)
2. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 219.802mph 40.9460s + 0.2152s (89 laps)
3. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 219.123mph 41.0729s + 0.3421s (69 laps)
4. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 218.788mph 41.1357s + 0.4049s (46 laps)
5. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 218.293mph 41.2290s + 0.4982s (93 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 218.221mph 41.2425s + 0.5117s (115 laps)
7. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 218.209mph 41.2448s + 0.5140s (80 laps)
8. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 218.190mph 41.2484s + 0.5176s (92 laps)
9. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 218.171mph 41.2521s + 0.5213s (64 laps)
10. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 217.801mph 41.3221s + 0.5913s (64 laps)
11. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 217.770mph 41.3280s + 0.5972s (95 laps)
12. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 217.744mph 41.3330s + 0.6022s (69 laps)
13. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 217.605mph 41.3594s + 0.6286s (60 laps)
14. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther (C) 217.527mph 41.3742s + 0.6434s (80 laps)
15. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 217.286mph 41.4200s + 0.6892s (86 laps)
16. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 217.281mph 41.4211s + 0.6903s (101 laps)
17. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 217.248mph 41.4274s + 0.6966s (51 laps)
18. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 217.185mph 41.4394s + 0.7086s (116 laps)
19. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 216.724mph 41.5274s + 0.7966s (103 laps)
20. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 216.544mph 41.5619s + 0.8311s (54 laps)
21. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 215.489mph 41.7654s + 1.0346s (84 laps)
22. #18 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne (H) 215.348mph 41.7928s + 1.0620s (105 laps)
23. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 215.001mph 41.8603s + 1.1295s (49 laps)
24. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 214.913mph 41.8775s + 1.1467s (55 laps)

Total laps: 1908

Combined open test times

1. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 220.963mph 40.7308s Practice 2 (122 laps)
2. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 219.802mph 40.9460s Practice 2 (124 laps)
3. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 219.123mph 41.0729s Practice 2 (111 laps)
4. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 218.788mph 41.1357s Practice 2 (99 laps)
5. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 218.293mph 41.2290s Practice 2 (128 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 218.221mph 41.2425s Practice 2 (143 laps)
7. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 218.209mph 41.2448s Practice 2 (143 laps)
8. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 218.190mph 41.2484s Practice 2 (139 laps)
9. #12 Will Power (C) 218.171mph 41.2521s Practice 2 (111 laps)
10. #16 James Jakes (H) 217.801mph 41.3221s Practice 2 (104 laps)
11. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 217.770mph 41.3280s Practice 2 (141 laps)
12. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 217.744mph 41.3330s Practice 2 (134 laps)
13. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 217.605mph 41.3594s Practice 2 (113 laps)
14. #4 Ryan Briscoe (C) 217.527mph 41.3742s Practice 2 (114 laps)
15. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 217.519mph 41.3757s Practice 1 (167 laps)
16. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 217.500mph 41.3794s Practice 1 (150 laps)
17. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 217.281mph 41.4211s Practice 2 (131 laps)
18. #5 EJ Viso (C) 217.248mph 41.4274s Practice 2 (105 laps)
19. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 217.189mph 41.4386s Practice 1 (98 laps)
20. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 216.724mph 41.5274s Practice 2 (175 laps)
21. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 215.824mph 41.7007s Practice 1 (94 laps)
22. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 215.489mph 41.7654s Practice 2 (141 laps)
23. #18 Pippa Mann (H) 215.348mph 41.7928s Practice 2 (146 laps)
24. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 215.001mph 41.8603s Practice 2 (109 laps)

Total Laps for Combined Sessions: 3042

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Briscoe at the Pocono Open Test - July 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media.)
Marco Andretti at the Pocono Open Test - July 4, 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media.)
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.