After spending a full day of testing at the 2.5-mile Pocono Raceway on Thursday, the drivers were getting used to the 'Tricky Triangle' with its unique tri-oval layout. Marco Andretti had topped both midweek sessions at Pocono and duly did the same again for Saturday morning practice for the Pocono IndyCar 400, the open wheel series' first return to the venue since 1989.

His lap of 40.5620s (221.883mph) was faster than Thursday's best time, and already a full 10mph better than the official Indy car track record that was set by Emerson Fittipaldi the last time the series raced here. The speeds left many of the spectators at the venue - more used to the significantly slower stock cars of the NASCAR championship - looking somewhat startled.

As he had been on Thursday, Tony Kanaan was second fastest as he bids to take the second leg of the newly-reinstated Triple Crown tournament: if he can add Pocnono and Fontana to his Indy 500 success then he stand to win a $1 million cash bonus.

There was a single caution midway through the hour-long practice session after Will Power's #12 Penske car needed a tow back to pit road after suffering an apparent electrical issue in turn 2.

Ryan Briscoe was absent from the day's proceedings as he is competing for Level 5 Motorsports in the American Le Mans Series Northeast Grand Prix race at Lime Rock Park in Lakeville, Connecticut. Briscoe will start Sunday's race from the back row of the grid.

Practice 1 times

1. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 221.883mph 40.5620s (27 laps)
2. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 220.819mph 40.7573s + 0.1953s (16 laps)
3. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 220.683mph 40.7825s + 0.2205s (50 laps)
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 220.226mph 40.8671s + 0.3051s (32 laps)
5. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 220.219mph 40.8685s + 0.3065s (28 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 220.217mph 40.8688s + 0.3068s (29 laps)
7. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 220.139mph 40.8832s + 0.3212s (25 laps)
8. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 219.757mph 40.9543s + 0.3923s (14 laps)
9. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 219.753mph 40.9551s + 0.3931s (23 laps)
10. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 219.727mph 40.9600s + 0.3980s (38 laps)
11. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 219.623mph 40.9794s + 0.4174s (21 laps)
12. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 219.563mph 40.9906s + 0.4286s (26 laps)
13. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 219.496mph 41.0031s + 0.4411s (14 laps)
14. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 219.092mph 41.0787s + 0.5167s (34 laps)
15. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 219.047mph 41.0870s + 0.5250s (39 laps)
16. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 218.576mph 41.1757s + 0.6137s (26 laps)
17. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 218.433mph 41.2025s + 0.6405s (32 laps)
18. #18 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne (H) 218.221mph 41.2425s + 0.6805s (30 laps)
19. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 218.002mph 41.2841s + 0.7221s (35 laps)
20. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 217.819mph 41.3188s + 0.7568s (33 laps)
21. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 217.670mph 41.3470s + 0.7850s (28 laps)
22. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 217.225mph 41.4317s + 0.8697s (34 laps)
23. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 217.053mph 41.4646s + 0.9026s (32 laps)

Total laps: 666