Andy Murray winning Wimbledon had nothing on the shock that was in store at Pocono Raceway on Sunday afternoon, as Scott Dixon led Charlie Kimball and Dario Franchitti across the line to clinch a remarkable and completely unexpected all-Ganass/Honda 1-2-3 podium finish at the IZOD IndyCar Series' first return to the 2.5-mile tri-oval in 24 years.

Going in it had looked to be a slam-dunk for Andretti Autosports, but the team's plans started to unravel right from the very first run through turn 1 which saw James Hinchcliffe bobble out of third place and into a crunching hit with the wall. Ryan Hunter-Reay was taken out on pit road by a high-speed Takuma Sato failing to hit the brakes, and EJ Viso was sidelined by mechanical issues.

That left Marco Andretti as the team's only contender, and after leading for the majority of the race he was beset by fuel consumption issues in the closing laps that forced him to back off, dropping all the way back to tenth place before he crossed the line and pulled over with a totally drained gas tank.

Penske's Will Power was the highest-placed Chevrolet runner in fourth, with another trio of Honda-powered contenders (Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud and Justin Wilson) finishing ahead of Helio Castroneves in eighth and Ed Carpenter in ninth.

Tony Kanaan's hopes of claiming the 2013 Triple Crown ended when he clipped his front wing on the back of Scott Dixon's car while passing for the lead midway through the race, forcing him to make an off-sync pit stop for repairs.

Race results

1. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda 2hrs 4mins 26.4178secs after 160 laps
2. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 0.4572s
3. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 1.1989s
4. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet + 5.632s
5. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 7.1949s
6. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 9.4074s
7. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 13.3012s
8. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 13.9376s
9. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 15.55s
10. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 18.4584s
11. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 32.0478s
12. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 36.2536s
13. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 41.5507s
14. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther Chevrolet + 1 laps
15. #18 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Honda + 1 laps
16. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 1 laps
17. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA Honda + 2 laps
18. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 2 laps
19. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 2 laps

Did not finish

#1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet + 39 laps Contact #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 56 laps Mechanical #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 99 laps Contact #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 158 laps Mechanical #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet + 160 laps Contact

Fastest lap

#14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda 218.320mph 41.2239s on lap 56


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment