IndyCar »

Pocono: Race results

Full race results from Sunday afternoon's Pocono IndyCar 400, which saw Scott Dixon lead Ganassi team mates Charlie Kimball and Dario Franchitti across the line.
Andy Murray winning Wimbledon had nothing on the shock that was in store at Pocono Raceway on Sunday afternoon, as Scott Dixon led Charlie Kimball and Dario Franchitti across the line to clinch a remarkable and completely unexpected all-Ganass/Honda 1-2-3 podium finish at the IZOD IndyCar Series' first return to the 2.5-mile tri-oval in 24 years.

Going in it had looked to be a slam-dunk for Andretti Autosports, but the team's plans started to unravel right from the very first run through turn 1 which saw James Hinchcliffe bobble out of third place and into a crunching hit with the wall. Ryan Hunter-Reay was taken out on pit road by a high-speed Takuma Sato failing to hit the brakes, and EJ Viso was sidelined by mechanical issues.

That left Marco Andretti as the team's only contender, and after leading for the majority of the race he was beset by fuel consumption issues in the closing laps that forced him to back off, dropping all the way back to tenth place before he crossed the line and pulled over with a totally drained gas tank.

Penske's Will Power was the highest-placed Chevrolet runner in fourth, with another trio of Honda-powered contenders (Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud and Justin Wilson) finishing ahead of Helio Castroneves in eighth and Ed Carpenter in ninth.

Tony Kanaan's hopes of claiming the 2013 Triple Crown ended when he clipped his front wing on the back of Scott Dixon's car while passing for the lead midway through the race, forcing him to make an off-sync pit stop for repairs.

Race results

1. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda 2hrs 4mins 26.4178secs after 160 laps
2. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 0.4572s
3. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 1.1989s
4. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet + 5.632s
5. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 7.1949s
6. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 9.4074s
7. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 13.3012s
8. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 13.9376s
9. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 15.55s
10. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 18.4584s
11. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 32.0478s
12. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 36.2536s
13. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 41.5507s
14. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther Chevrolet + 1 laps
15. #18 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Honda + 1 laps
16. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 1 laps
17. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA Honda + 2 laps
18. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 2 laps
19. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 2 laps

Did not finish

#1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet + 39 laps Contact
#5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 56 laps Mechanical
#14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 99 laps Contact
#6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 158 laps Mechanical
#27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet + 160 laps Contact

Fastest lap

#14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda 218.320mph 41.2239s on lap 56

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power, driver of the #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet IndyCar, finished in fourth-place during the IZOD IndyCar Pocono 400 race Sunday, July 7, 2013 in Long Pond, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Phillip Abbott for Chevy Racing)
Charlie Kimball came second in the Pocono IndyCar 400 at Pocono Raceway on Sunday, July 7 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Dario Franchitti came third in the Pocono IndyCar 400 at Pocono Raceway on Sunday, July 7 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon celebrates winning the Pocono IndyCar 400 at Pocono Raceway on Sunday, July 7 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon wins the Pocono IndyCar 400 at Pocono Raceway on Sunday, July 7 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.