Scott Dixon followed up his win at Pocono last weekend with victory in the first of the two Honda Indy Toronto double-header races in Ontario, Canada on Saturday afternoon.

It's Dixon's first on the 1.755 mile, 11-turn temporary street circuit and is his second win of the season and the 31st in his IndyCar career. He managed to see off Sebastian Bourdais in a final restart with one lap to go to the finish The Frenchman marred his moment on the podium by accidentally dropping and shattering the glass trophy presented to the runner-up.

The two were joined on the podium by Dixon's Ganassi team mate Dario Franchitti, but before the champagne was unleashed Franchitti was informed that he'd been handed a 25-second post-race penalty for forcing Will Power into a tyre barrier on the final lap. That meant Franchitti belatedly lost his podium finish to Marco Andretti and demoted to 13th place.

Franchitti and the team immediately appealed the decision to race director Brian Barnhart: the penalty was subsequently rescinded by race control and Franchitti reinstated to third place.

Full race 1 report now available.

Race 1 results

1. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda 1hrs 41mins 17.0605secs after 85 laps
2. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 1.7007s
3. #10 Dario Franchitti * Ganassi Honda + 2.9116s
4. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 3.7273s
5. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 4.5961s
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 5.072s
7. #18 Mike Conway Dale Coyne Honda + 5.5749s
8. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet + 8.658s
9. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 10.214s
10. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 10.8797s
11. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 11.3536s
12. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 11.6899s
13. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 13.0557s
14. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 47.5037s
15. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet + 1 laps
16. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 1 laps
17. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA Honda + 1 laps
18. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet + 2 laps
19. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 2 laps
20. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 3 laps

DNF #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 13 laps Contact
DNF #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther Chevrolet + 21 laps Contact
DNF #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 51 laps Contact
DNF #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 53 laps Mechanical

* 25-second post-race penalty for causing an avoidable collision was subsequently rescinded

Fastest lap #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet 105.605mph 59.8267s on lap 57


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment