IndyCar »

Toronto: Sunday warm-up times

Helio Castroneves topped the Sunday morning half-hour track opportunity that allowed drivers to ready their cars for the second race of the Honda Indy Toronto double-header.
Helio Castroneves paced the 30-minute Sunday warm-up session in Toronto, the Penske driver setting a best time of 59.4075s (106.35mph) on the 1.755-mile, 11-turn temporary street circuit in downtown Toronto, Ontario.

That was just under eight thousandths of a second faster that Scott Dixon, yesterday's race 1 winner and the man who will start today's race from from pole position alongside his Ganassi team mate Dario Franchitti who was third-fastest in the warm-up.

There were no significant incidents during the session, with drivers more focussed on the need to practice standing starts after the overnight decision to convert race 2 to the standing format after the planned attempt on Saturday went awry after Josef Newgarden stalled on the grid and forced race direction to switch to the normal rolling start.

Also in action on Sunday morning was Carlos Munoz, who had literally slipped into Ryan Briscoe's National Guard firesuit in order to take the wheel of the #4 Panther Racing car at very short notice, following confirmation of Briscoe's broken right wrist following a lap 61 accident in yesterday's race 1.

Munoz will start from the back of the grid for today's race, which gets underway at 3.40pm EST (8.40pm BST).

Sunday warm-up times

1. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 106.35mph 59.4075s (24 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 106.336mph 59.4154s + 0.0079s (22 laps)
3. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 106.177mph 59.5046s + 0.0971s (17 laps)
4. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 105.850mph 59.6883s + 0.2808s (23 laps)
5. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 105.807mph 59.7127s + 0.3052s (19 laps)
6. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 105.579mph 59.8415s + 0.4340s (15 laps)
7. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 105.562mph 59.8509s + 0.4434s (20 laps)
8. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 105.503mph 59.8848s + 0.4773s (20 laps)
9. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 105.468mph 59.9045s + 0.4970s (16 laps)
10. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 105.342mph 59.9762s + 0.5687s (18 laps)
11. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 105.332mph 59.9820s + 0.5745s (24 laps)
12. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 105.263mph 1:00.0212s + 0.6137s (22 laps)
13. #18 Mike Conway Dale Coyne (H) 105.075mph 1:00.1285s + 0.7210s (18 laps)
14. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 105.055mph 1:00.1400s + 0.7325s (17 laps)
15. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 104.896mph 1:00.2312s + 0.8237s (22 laps)
16. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 104.840mph 1:00.2635s + 0.8560s (8 laps)
17. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 104.811mph 1:00.2799s + 0.8724s (18 laps)
18. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 104.506mph 1:00.4559s + 1.0484s (19 laps)
19. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 104.410mph 1:00.5112s + 1.1037s (21 laps)
20. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA (H) 104.398mph 1:00.5186s + 1.1111s (20 laps)
21. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 104.390mph 1:00.5231s + 1.1156s (18 laps)
22. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 104.312mph 1:00.5683s + 1.1608s (17 laps)
23. # Carlos Munoz 103.738mph 1:00.9032s + 1.4957s (22 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 103.595mph 1:00.9874s + 1.5799s (15 laps)

Total laps: 455

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves, driver of the #3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet, races to a sixth-place finish Saturday, July 13, 2013 during the IZOD IndyCar Series Race One in the Streets of Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Castroneves retains the driver points lead. (Photo by Phillip Abbott for Chevy Racing)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) celebrates pole at Long Beach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Helio Castroneves - Team Penske    [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Helio Castroneves - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.