IndyCar »

Mid-Ohio: Open test times

Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay topped the times on Wednesday at the IndyCar open test at Mid-Ohio, ahead of Simon Pagenaud and Will Power.
Reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay was the fastest man at the end of a full day of open testing at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Wednesday, setting a time of 1:05.6358s (123.847mph) in his final outing of the day in the #1 Andretti Autosport car on the 13-turn, 2.258-mile permanent road course.

After rain, gloomy conditions and a wet track in the morning, Hunter-Reay finished the afternoon session 0.1607s clear of Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsport's Simon Pagenaud, who was himself ahead of Penske's Will Power by just over two hundredths of a second.

Also taking part was former Indy Lights driver James Davisonn who is being given a maiden series race outing with Dale Coyne Racing at Mid-Ohio this weekend. Hoping for a similar opportunity was Luca Filippi, former GP2 star, who was testing the #18 Dale Coyne Racing car but who does not yet know for certain whether this will lead to a race start at this weekend's round 14 of the 2013 championship.

Mid-Ohio open test times

1. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 123.847mph 1:05.6358s (49 laps)
2. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 123.545mph 1:05.7965s + 0.1607s (62 laps)
3. #12 Will Power (C) 123.499mph 1:05.8206s + 0.1848s (52 laps)
4. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 123.228mph 1:05.9654s + 0.3296s (61 laps)
5. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 123.218mph 1:05.9710s + 0.3352s (50 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 122.973mph 1:06.1025s + 0.4667s (50 laps)
7. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 122.959mph 1:06.1100s + 0.4742s (37 laps)
8. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 122.877mph 1:06.1541s + 0.5183s (32 laps)
9. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 122.844mph 1:06.1716s + 0.5358s (37 laps)
10. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 122.725mph 1:06.2360s + 0.6002s (71 laps)
11. #16 James Jakes (H) 122.651mph 1:06.2761s + 0.6403s (47 laps)
12. #4 Oriol Servia (C) 122.470mph 1:06.3740s + 0.7382s (61 laps)
13. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 122.408mph 1:06.4072s + 0.7714s (57 laps)
14. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 122.285mph 1:06.4743s + 0.8385s (52 laps)
15. #5 EJ Viso (C) 122.145mph 1:06.5502s + 0.9144s (48 laps)
16. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 121.918mph 1:06.6743s + 1.0385s (48 laps)
17. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 121.791mph 1:06.7436s + 1.1078s (40 laps)
18. #98 Luca Filippi (H) 121.765mph 1:06.7579s + 1.1221s (56 laps)
19. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 121.674mph 1:06.8079s + 1.1721s (54 laps)
20. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 121.613mph 1:06.8416s + 1.2058s (32 laps)
21. #18 James Davison (H) 121.277mph 1:07.0270s + 1.3912s (39 laps)
22. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 121.089mph 1:07.1307s + 1.4949s (16 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 120.356mph 1:07.5398s + 1.9040s (60 laps)
24. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 103.412mph 1:18.6062s + 2.9704s (3 laps)

Total Laps: 1114

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
James Davison taking part in the open test session with Dale Coyne Racing at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Wednesday, July 31 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Luca Filippi taking part in the open test session with Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autosport at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Wednesday, July 31 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Ryan Hunter-Reay on his way to topping the times in the open test session with Andretti Autosport at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Wednesday, July 31 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Teams at work in the pit lane in overcast conditions for the open test session at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Wednesday, July 31 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais
James Davison
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, McLaren
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.