Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden ended up top of the timesheets in the third practice session at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, the final opportunity for the teams and drivers to work on their set-ups before qualifying gets underway for Sunday's race.

Newgarden's time of 1:06.6536s (121.956mph) on the 13-turn, 2.258-mile permanent road course was significantly slower than the laps posted on Friday, but was still enough to leave him top by seven hundredths of a second from Marco Andretti when red flags put a premature end to the 45-minute session.

Two separate incidents caused the curtailment, with Penske's Will Power off in the gravel at turn 1 in the #12 Verizon car, and James Hinchcliffe simultaneously into the tyres at turn 12 in the #27 Andretti Autosport machine.

There had also been two earlier stoppages, the first being for Takuma Sato making contact with the tyres in turn 2 at the very start of the session. The the #14 AJ Foyt Racing car was able to make it back to pit road, it meant Sato was unable to complete a genuine fast lap and once again missed out on track time having been sidelined by gearbox problems on Friday.

The other red flag was for Charlie Kimball, who spun to a stop in turn 1 halfway through the session while on his very first lap. He climbed out of the car and was unable to take any further part in practice.

Practice 3 times

1. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 121.956mph 1:06.6536s (12 laps)
2. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 121.826mph 1:06.7244s + 0.0708s (11 laps)
3. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 121.809mph 1:06.7339s + 0.0803s (8 laps)
4. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 121.723mph 1:06.7810s + 0.1274s (8 laps)
5. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 121.432mph 1:06.9410s + 0.2874s (13 laps)
6. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 121.412mph 1:06.9524s + 0.2988s (5 laps)
7. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 121.398mph 1:06.9599s + 0.3063s (6 laps)
8. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 121.184mph 1:07.0782s + 0.4246s (7 laps)
9. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 121.182mph 1:07.0794s + 0.4258s (7 laps)
10. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 121.173mph 1:07.0841s + 0.4305s (12 laps)
11. #4 Oriol Servi? Panther (C) 121.046mph 1:07.1549s + 0.5013s (10 laps)
12. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 120.881mph 1:07.2463s + 0.5927s (6 laps)
13. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 120.804mph 1:07.2890s + 0.6354s (12 laps)
14. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 120.549mph 1:07.4313s + 0.7777s (8 laps)
15. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 120.275mph 1:07.5849s + 0.9313s (17 laps)
16. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 120.089mph 1:07.6899s + 1.0363s (13 laps)
17. #18 James Davison Dale Coyne (H) 119.988mph 1:07.7466s + 1.0930s (18 laps)
18. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 119.977mph 1:07.7529s + 1.0993s (12 laps)
19. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 119.950mph 1:07.7681s + 1.1145s (18 laps)
20. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 119.251mph 1:08.1657s + 1.5121s (3 laps)
21. #98 Luca Filippi BHA (H) 118.606mph 1:08.5362s + 1.8826s (3 laps)
22. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 118.534mph 1:08.5779s + 1.9243s (17 laps)
23. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 115.592mph 1:10.3230s + 3.6694s (1 laps)
24. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 107.674mph 1:15.4948s + 8.8412s (2 laps)

Total laps: 229