Ganassi topped the timesheets again on Saturday morning, but this time it was Dario Ganassi who set the pace with a lap of 1:18.0988s (109.938mph) on the 2.385-mile, 12-turn Sonoma Raceway road course in southern California.

Franchitti was a quarter of a second faster than Ryan Hunter-Reay in the Andretti Autosports #1, and over two tenths faster than his best time of Friday's two practice sessions.

Sebastien Bourdais was third fastest for Dragon Racing and Scott Dixon was fourth fastest ahead of Dale Coyne Racing's Justin Wilson. In all, less than a second covered the top 14 cars.

The only drama was in the last couple of minutes, reports Lynne Huntting of from trackside. After having topped the times early in the session, EJ Viso suddenly slowed up five minutes form the end of the45-minute session and was rear-ended by a surprised Will Power in the #12 Penske car. Although the collision did not bring out a red flag, both needed to pit for damage assessment. Viso sustained rear end damage to the car while Power had damage to his side plates. Both drivers are uninjured.

In the remaining time available, IndyCar Series rookie Lucas Luhr jumped up three spots in the standings to 22nd in the #97 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing car, only to be pushed back a spot at the very end of the session by his team mate Josef Newgarden in the #67.

The ambient temperature for the pre-noon session was in the low seventies with a brisk breeze, allowing track temperatures to reach 96 degrees Fahrenheit.

Practice 3 times

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 109.938mph 1:18.0988s (9 laps)
2. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 109.579mph 1:18.3542s + 0.2554s (11 laps)
3. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 109.304mph 1:18.5513s + 0.4525s (17 laps)
4. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 109.286mph 1:18.5643s + 0.4655s (7 laps)
5. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 109.279mph 1:18.5695s + 0.4707s (14 laps)
6. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 109.154mph 1:18.6593s + 0.5605s (11 laps)
7. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 109.022mph 1:18.7551s + 0.6563s (8 laps)
8. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 109.014mph 1:18.7604s + 0.6616s (12 laps)
9. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 108.972mph 1:18.7912s + 0.6924s (15 laps)
10. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 108.951mph 1:18.8062s + 0.7074s (18 laps)
11. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 108.856mph 1:18.8745s + 0.7757s (14 laps)
12. #16 James Jakes (H) 108.831mph 1:18.8927s + 0.7939s (16 laps)
13. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 108.805mph 1:18.9115s + 0.8127s (11 laps)
14. #4 Ryan Briscoe (C) 108.794mph 1:18.9199s + 0.8211s (14 laps)
15. #12 Will Power (C) 108.624mph 1:19.0436s + 0.9448s (16 laps)
16. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 108.568mph 1:19.0843s + 0.9855s (14 laps)
17. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 108.561mph 1:19.0889s + 0.9901s (15 laps)
18. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 108.549mph 1:19.0982s + 0.9994s (12 laps)
19. #5 EJ Viso (C) 108.450mph 1:19.1701s + 1.0713s (11 laps)
20. #98 JR Hildebrand (H) 108.435mph 1:19.1808s + 1.0820s (13 laps)
21. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 107.723mph 1:19.7045s + 1.6057s (14 laps)
22. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 107.453mph 1:19.9050s + 1.8062s (17 laps)
23. #97 Lucas Luhr (H) 106.893mph 1:20.3230s + 2.2242s (12 laps)
24. #18 James Davison (H) 106.590mph 1:20.5516s + 2.4528s (11 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 106.050mph 1:20.9619s + 2.8631s (19 laps)

Total Laps: 331