Dario Franchitti's final flying lap of 1:17.5271s (110.748mph) in the Firestone Fast Six round of qualifying was enough to secure him pole position for Sunday's GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma by almost two tenths from his Ganassi team mate Scott Dixon, continuing the impressive revival of the squad in the second half of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

"Obviously both Target cars have been fast all weekend, and in the test as well," acknowledged Franchitti. "Q1 we just did the one lap on the reds and it was the quickest time, so they pulled me in and we felt that there was a lot of good still left in the tyres. So we put those on for the second run and the car was good again.

"I managed to make a couple of mistakes, actually, so I was surprised to be as close to the guys on the new reds," he continued. "We had the new reds on obviously for the Firestone Fast Six, which is just as well because I did a good job at the 10 and 11 corners and royally screwed up Turn 6 both laps, so luckily I had the advantage in the other corners to make it. So really happy, good to have 1-2."

Penske's Will Power, who has claimed pole for the last three consecutive races at Sonoma Raceway, could this time only manage third place in the #12 car, with Ryan Hunter-Reay putting the #1 Andretti Autosport into fourth place ahead of Helio Castroneves and Charlie Kimball.

Just missing out on the top six pole shootout was Justin Wilson, who will once again start from seventh position in the #19 Dale Coyne Racing car.

"The track changed completely and made it tricky to drive," said Wilson. "It would have been nice to break into the top-six because we were so close. All year we've been seventh, eighth - in that region during qualifying.

"We have a pretty good car," he added. "Fingers crossed, we're in a good position for the race. We just have to stay consistent and move forward in the race."

At the other end of the grid, Ryan Briscoe was disappointed not to progress from his round 1 group in the #4 Panther Racing car, and he will start from 22nd on Sunday after failing to find the sort of speed he needed to make it through to the Top 12.

"We definitely lacked the speed, which is a shame, because we've been feeling really confident," he said. "But since yesterday afternoon into today we've lost the pace a little bit, so we need to look at where we need to turn it back around and make ourselves competitive again.

"It's going to make for a long race tomorrow and I think we're going to see a lot of tyre degradation, so we're going to have to try to make the strategy and the consistency work to our advantage," he added.

There were no on-track incidents causing a red flag stoppage in any of the three rounds of qualifying.

A half-hour warm-up on Sunday morning precedes the race itself which gets underway at around 1.45pm California time (9.45pm BST)

Round 1 - Group 1

1. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 110.072mph 1:18.0033s (4 laps)
2. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 109.364mph 1:18.5082s + 0.5049s (6 laps)
3. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 109.090mph 1:18.7054s + 0.7021s (5 laps)
4. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 109.063mph 1:18.7253s + 0.7220s (6 laps)
5. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 109.053mph 1:18.7325s + 0.7292s (6 laps)
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 108.974mph 1:18.7895s + 0.7862s (5 laps)
7. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 108.799mph 1:18.9164s + 0.9131s (5 laps)
8. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 108.774mph 1:18.9344s + 0.9311s (6 laps)
9. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 108.671mph 1:19.0094s + 1.0061s (6 laps)
10. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 108.469mph 1:19.1563s + 1.1530s (6 laps)
11. #18 James Davison Dale Coyne (H) 107.961mph 1:19.5285s + 1.5252s (4 laps)
12. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 107.960mph 1:19.5298s + 1.5265s (4 laps)

Total laps: 63

Round 1 - Group 2

1. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 110.805mph 1:17.4874s (4 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 110.527mph 1:17.6825s + 0.1951s (4 laps)
3. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 110.377mph 1:17.7877s + 0.3003s (4 laps)
4. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 110.300mph 1:17.8424s + 0.3550s (4 laps)
5. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 110.181mph 1:17.9260s + 0.4386s (3 laps)
6. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 109.912mph 1:18.1170s + 0.6296s (5 laps)
7. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 109.635mph 1:18.3141s + 0.8267s (3 laps)
8. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 109.611mph 1:18.3318s + 0.8444s (4 laps)
9. #98 JR Hildebrand BHA (H) 109.082mph 1:18.7114s + 1.2240s (5 laps)
10. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 108.826mph 1:18.8967s + 1.4093s (6 laps)
11. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther (C) 108.719mph 1:18.9743s + 1.4869s (2 laps)
12. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 108.358mph 1:19.2376s + 1.7502s (6 laps)
13. #97 Lucas Luhr SFHR (H) 107.351mph 1:19.9805s + 2.4931s (5 laps)

Total laps: 55

Round 2 - Top 12

1. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 110.719mph 1:17.5474s (5 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 110.708mph 1:17.5554s + 0.0080s (3 laps)
3. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 110.376mph 1:17.7887s + 0.2413s (5 laps)
4. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 110.352mph 1:17.8057s + 0.2583s (5 laps)
5. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 110.044mph 1:18.0235s + 0.4761s (5 laps)
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 109.962mph 1:18.0813s + 0.5339s (6 laps)
7. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 109.776mph 1:18.2138s + 0.6664s (2 laps)
8. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 109.648mph 1:18.3051s + 0.7577s (2 laps)
9. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 109.636mph 1:18.3135s + 0.7661s (6 laps)
10. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 109.545mph 1:18.3787s + 0.8313s (3 laps)
11. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 109.205mph 1:18.6230s + 1.0756s (5 laps)
12. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 98.972mph 1:26.7515s + 9.2041s (3 laps)

Total laps: 50

Round 3 - Firestone Fast Six

1. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 110.748mph 1:17.5271s (2 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 110.474mph 1:17.7196s + 0.1925s (2 laps)
3. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 110.114mph 1:17.9735s + 0.4464s (2 laps)
4. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 109.892mph 1:18.1314s + 0.6043s (2 laps)
5. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 109.828mph 1:18.1766s + 0.6495s (2 laps)
6. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 109.794mph 1:18.2009s + 0.6738s (1 laps)

Total laps: 11

Unofficial starting grid

1. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H)
3. #12 Will Power Penske (C)
4. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C)
5. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C)
6. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H)
7. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H)
8. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H)
9. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C)
10. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H)
11. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C)
12. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C)
13. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H)
14. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H)
15. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C)
16. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C)
17. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H)
18. #98 JR Hildebrand BHA (H)
19. #16 James Jakes RLL (H)
20. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C)
21. #18 James Davison Dale Coyne (H)
22. #4 Ryan Briscoe Panther (C)
23. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C)
25. #97 Lucas Luhr SFHR (H)

Pending any starting grid penalties


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment