IndyCar »

Baltimore: Practice 1 times

Will Power took first blood at Baltimore with the fastest time in the first practice on Friday morning ahead of EJ Viso and series returnee Oriol Servia.
Penske's Will Power proved to determined to carry on his winning roll from last week in Sonoma by convincingly topping the first practice timesheets in Baltimore on Friday morning.

His time of 1:20.8632s (90.820mph) on the 2.04-mile, 12-turn downtown street course put him over a quarter of a second clear of EJ Viso who placed second in the Team Venezuela-Andretti Autosport-HVM #5 entry.

Oriol Servia, returning to competition in the #4 National Guard Panther Racing car for the rest of the season, was third fastest ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan's Graham Rahal and Ganassi's Scott Dixon.

The session saw two red flag for incidents, the first for Sebastien Bourdais stopping the Dragon Racing #7 at turn 5 just three minutes into the session, and the second for Stefan Wilson coming to a halt in the same runoff shortly before the midpoint of the session. There was a third stoppage to retrieve some debris between turns 4 and 5, and Tony Kanaan was also handed a drive-thru penalty for a pit lane violation.

It was Stefan Wilson's his first outing in the IZOD IndyCar Series as the latest team mate to his brother Justin at Dale Coyne Racing which has seen them dubbed "bromates" for the weekend.

"I described this as being thrown in the deep end without armbands on," said Stefan, who logged the most laps in the first 45 minute practice of the weekend. "After that first session I'd say its more like the ocean without armbands.

"There are so many electronics, he added, saying that he had been calling upon the advice of fellow former Indy Lights alumni such as James Hinchcliffe and Josef Newgarden to help get him up to speed in Baltimore. "You aren't just learning the car but also the electronics."

Practice 1 times

1. #12 Will Power (C) 90.820mph 1:20.8632s (9 laps)
2. #5 EJ Viso (C) 90.526mph 1:21.1256s + 0.2624s (16 laps)
3. #4 Oriol Servia (C) 90.335mph 1:21.2977s + 0.4345s (11 laps)
4. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 90.317mph 1:21.3134s + 0.4502s (13 laps)
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 90.305mph 1:21.3247s + 0.4615s (6 laps)
6. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 90.203mph 1:21.4165s + 0.5533s (15 laps)
7. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 90.163mph 1:21.4521s + 0.5889s (10 laps)
8. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 90.152mph 1:21.4625s + 0.5993s (13 laps)
9. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 90.059mph 1:21.5462s + 0.6830s (7 laps)
10. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 90.054mph 1:21.5508s + 0.6876s (14 laps)
11. #16 James Jakes (H) 89.947mph 1:21.6477s + 0.7845s (11 laps)
12. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 89.784mph 1:21.7964s + 0.9332s (11 laps)
13. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 89.779mph 1:21.8010s + 0.9378s (7 laps)
14. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 89.774mph 1:21.8058s + 0.9426s (11 laps)
15. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 89.727mph 1:21.8487s + 0.9855s (16 laps)
16. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 89.696mph 1:21.8769s + 1.0137s (12 laps)
17. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 89.423mph 1:22.1269s + 1.2637s (6 laps)
18. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 89.407mph 1:22.1411s + 1.2779s (10 laps)
19. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 89.372mph 1:22.1730s + 1.3098s (15 laps)
20. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 89.226mph 1:22.3078s + 1.4446s (18 laps)
21. #98 Luca Filippi (H) 88.922mph 1:22.5895s + 1.7263s (14 laps)
22. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 87.973mph 1:23.4799s + 2.6167s (5 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 86.559mph 1:24.8443s + 3.9811s (15 laps)
24. #18 Stefan Wilson (H) 86.117mph 1:25.2797s + 4.4165s (19 laps)

Total Laps: 284

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power, driver of the #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, races to victory Sunday, August 25, 2013 during the Grand Prix of Sonoma IndyCar race in Sonoma, California. (Photo by Phillip Abbott for Chevy Racing)
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
Will Power - Team Penske
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Justin Wilson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Sebastian Bourdais (KVSH Racing) celebrates in Detroit   [image creid: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Sebastian Bourdais - KVSH Racing   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Richard Dowdy)
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Oriol Servia in his pit stand following practice for the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway (Photo by: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.