Justin Wilson put Dale Coyne Racing at the top of the timesheets at the end of second practice in Houston for the IZOD IndyCar Series cars, with a laptime of 1:04.4237s (91.308mph) almost two and a half seconds faster than the best time of the morning set by Penske's Will Power.

Power was second fastest in the later session, his own time also considerably faster as more rubber was laid down on the 1.683-mile, 10-turn temporary street course to increase grip levels. Even so, he was 0.3790s off Wilson's top time, while Tristan Vautier was two tenths of a second back in third.

The session saw a number of stoppages, the first of them less than five minutes in when Ed Carpenter stopped in the turn 6 runoff. Helio Castroneves hopped the curb and spun at turn 2 for the second, and then it was Carpenter again stopping on track before James Hinchcliffe triggered a fourth red ten minutes later. The session ended under a final red, with Castroneves encoring his earlier faux pas.

Originally, the schedule had called for a single 90-minute practice session on Friday before qualifying for the first of the double-header races. However, delays because of problems with the track conditions in turn 1 forced changes that saw practice broken into two 45 minute sessions instead, and qualifying moved to Saturday morning.

Practice 2 times

1. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 91.308mph 1:04.4237s(19 laps)
2. #12 Will Power (C) 90.774mph 1:04.8027s + 0.3790s (20 laps)
3. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 90.506mph 1:04.9946s + 0.5709s (19 laps)
4. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 90.365mph 1:05.0959s + 0.6722s (20 laps)
5. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 90.274mph 1:05.1618s + 0.7381s (15 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 89.982mph 1:05.3731s + 0.9494s (19 laps)
7. #16 James Jakes (H) 89.658mph 1:05.6092s + 1.1855s (17 laps)
8. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 89.593mph 1:05.6567s + 1.2330s (19 laps)
9. #98 Luca Filippi (H) 89.528mph 1:05.7045s + 1.2808s (14 laps)
10. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 89.504mph 1:05.7224s + 1.2987s (18 laps)
11. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 89.465mph 1:05.7512s + 1.3275s (20 laps)
12. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 89.374mph 1:05.8177s + 1.3940s (16 laps)
13. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 89.232mph 1:05.9226s + 1.4989s (18 laps)
14. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 89.195mph 1:05.9496s + 1.5259s (15 laps)
15. #18 Mike Conway (H) 89.105mph 1:06.0164s + 1.5927s (14 laps)
16. #5 EJ Viso (C) 89.102mph 1:06.0184s + 1.5947s (19 laps)
17. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 89.045mph 1:06.0607s + 1.6370s (9 laps)
18. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 88.864mph 1:06.1953s + 1.7716s (17 laps)
19. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 88.835mph 1:06.2170s + 1.7933s (11 laps)
20. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 88.128mph 1:06.7485s + 2.3248s (10 laps)
21. #4 Oriol Servia (C) 88.033mph 1:06.8203s + 2.3966s (17 laps)
22. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 87.421mph 1:07.2883s + 2.8646s (14 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 87.363mph 1:07.3327s + 2.9090s (14 laps)

Total Laps: 374


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment