IndyCar »

Houston: Practice 2 times

Justin Wilson took charge of the time sheets in the second practice session in Houston, pipping Will Power ahead of the double-header Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston weekend.
Justin Wilson put Dale Coyne Racing at the top of the timesheets at the end of second practice in Houston for the IZOD IndyCar Series cars, with a laptime of 1:04.4237s (91.308mph) almost two and a half seconds faster than the best time of the morning set by Penske's Will Power.

Power was second fastest in the later session, his own time also considerably faster as more rubber was laid down on the 1.683-mile, 10-turn temporary street course to increase grip levels. Even so, he was 0.3790s off Wilson's top time, while Tristan Vautier was two tenths of a second back in third.

The session saw a number of stoppages, the first of them less than five minutes in when Ed Carpenter stopped in the turn 6 runoff. Helio Castroneves hopped the curb and spun at turn 2 for the second, and then it was Carpenter again stopping on track before James Hinchcliffe triggered a fourth red ten minutes later. The session ended under a final red, with Castroneves encoring his earlier faux pas.

Originally, the schedule had called for a single 90-minute practice session on Friday before qualifying for the first of the double-header races. However, delays because of problems with the track conditions in turn 1 forced changes that saw practice broken into two 45 minute sessions instead, and qualifying moved to Saturday morning.

Practice 2 times

1. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 91.308mph 1:04.4237s(19 laps)
2. #12 Will Power (C) 90.774mph 1:04.8027s + 0.3790s (20 laps)
3. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 90.506mph 1:04.9946s + 0.5709s (19 laps)
4. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 90.365mph 1:05.0959s + 0.6722s (20 laps)
5. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 90.274mph 1:05.1618s + 0.7381s (15 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 89.982mph 1:05.3731s + 0.9494s (19 laps)
7. #16 James Jakes (H) 89.658mph 1:05.6092s + 1.1855s (17 laps)
8. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 89.593mph 1:05.6567s + 1.2330s (19 laps)
9. #98 Luca Filippi (H) 89.528mph 1:05.7045s + 1.2808s (14 laps)
10. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 89.504mph 1:05.7224s + 1.2987s (18 laps)
11. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 89.465mph 1:05.7512s + 1.3275s (20 laps)
12. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 89.374mph 1:05.8177s + 1.3940s (16 laps)
13. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 89.232mph 1:05.9226s + 1.4989s (18 laps)
14. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 89.195mph 1:05.9496s + 1.5259s (15 laps)
15. #18 Mike Conway (H) 89.105mph 1:06.0164s + 1.5927s (14 laps)
16. #5 EJ Viso (C) 89.102mph 1:06.0184s + 1.5947s (19 laps)
17. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 89.045mph 1:06.0607s + 1.6370s (9 laps)
18. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 88.864mph 1:06.1953s + 1.7716s (17 laps)
19. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 88.835mph 1:06.2170s + 1.7933s (11 laps)
20. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 88.128mph 1:06.7485s + 2.3248s (10 laps)
21. #4 Oriol Servia (C) 88.033mph 1:06.8203s + 2.3966s (17 laps)
22. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 87.421mph 1:07.2883s + 2.8646s (14 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 87.363mph 1:07.3327s + 2.9090s (14 laps)

Total Laps: 374

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Justin Wilson during the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on Sunday, April 21 2013. (Photo Credit: Richard Dowdy for IndyCar Media)
Will Power inspects the track ahead of practice for the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston on Friday, October 4 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
The Penske crew works on WIll Power`s car on pit road in action during practice for the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston on Friday, October 4 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Tristan Vautier in action during practice for the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston on Friday, October 4 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Justin Wilson in action during practice for the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston on Friday, October 4 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.