IndyCar »

Houston: Race results (1)

Full results from the first of the two 90-lap events of the IZOD IndyCar Series Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header event from Reliant Park Stadium.
Scott Dixon claimed his fourth win of 2013 to put himself firmly back into championship contention for the IZOD IndyCar Series title after a day of headache and heartache for chief rival Helio Castroneves.

Castroneves' Penske team mate Will Power led the early part of the race after polesitter Takuma Sato suffered an early puncture from debris, but Dixon was able to jump Power for the lead at the first round of pit stops. Dixon was further aided by a stroke of luck when time came for the second visit to pit lane after he was able to make his own stop just because a caution came out that put Power firmly on the backfoot and out of the top ten.

The caution also caught out Luca Filippi who had been putting in a strong run for Bryan Herta Autosport. Instead, Dixon was joined on the podium for the first time in her IndyCar career by Simona de Silvestro, with Justin Wilson completing another excellent day's work to clinch third place ahead of Simon Pagenaud.

As a result of the race, Castroneves' lead over Dixon in the championship has shrunk to just eight points with two races remaining, the first of which is on Sunday afternoon.

Race 1 results

1. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda 1hrs 54mins 48.3924secs after 90 laps
2. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 0.8781s
3. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 2.1432s
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 3.5492s
5. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 4.2293s
6. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 5.4614s
7. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 6.0983s
8. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 6.8946s
9. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 8.1873s
10. #98 Luca Filippi BHA Honda + 9.3052s
11. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 9.9622s
12. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet + 10.6455s
13. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 11.1431s
14. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 1 laps
15. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 1 laps
16. #18 Mike Conway Dale Coyne Honda + 5 laps Contact
17. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 8 laps Handling
18. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 10 laps
19. #4 Oriol Servià Panther Chevrolet + 27 laps Mechanical
20. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet + 33 laps Electrical
21. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 56 laps
22. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 58 laps
23. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 60 laps
24. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet + 89 laps Contact

Fastest lap
#12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet 60.0201s 98.007mph on lap 56

Championship standings

1. Hélio Castroneves 513pts
2. Scott Dixon 505pts
3. Simon Pagenaud 463pts
4. Marco Andretti 447pts
5. Ryan Hunter-Reay 437pts
6. Justin Wilson 428pts
7. Dario Franchitti 403pts
8. Will Power 391pts
9. James Hinchcliffe 382pts
10. Charlie Kimball 382pts
11. Tony Kanaan 355pts
12. EJ Viso 326pts
13. Sebastien Bourdais 321pts
14. Josef Newgarden 321pts
15. Simona de Silvestro 318pts
16. Takuma Sato 293pts
17. Graham Rahal 292pts
18. Ed Carpenter 284pts
19. James Jakes 272pts
20. Tristan Vautier 238pts
21. Sebastian Saavedra 212pts
22. Oriol Servià 196pts
23. Mike Conway 163pts
24. Alex Tagliani 163pts
25. Ryan Briscoe 100pts
26. JR Hildebrand 93pts
27. Ana Beatriz 72pts
28. Carlos Muñoz 67pts
29. AJ Allmendinger 65pts
30. Luca Filippi 42pts
31. Pippa Mann 29pts
32. James Davison 27pts
33. Stefan Wilson 14pts
34. Conor Daly 11pts
35. Townsend Bell 10pts
36. Katherine Legge 8pts
36. Lucas Luhr 8pts
36. Buddy Lazier 8pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simona de Silvestro celebrates after race 1 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header on Saturday, October 5 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon and Justin Wilson celebrate after race 1 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header on Saturday, October 5 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon, Simona de Silvestro and Justin Wilson celebrate after race 1 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header on Saturday, October 5 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.