IndyCar »

Houston: Race results (2)

Full results from the second of the two 90-lap events of the IZOD IndyCar Series Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston. double-header event from Reliant Park Stadium.
Will Power took the lead from Scott Dixon shortly before the midway point of the second race of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston doubleheader on Sunday, and refused to be dislodged again for the rest of the afternoon before claiming his second race win of 2013.

Power's win is not only a personal victory, but by pipping Dixon to the chequered flag he's given a huge helping hand to his Penske team mate Helio Castroneves. The Brazilian suffered major gearbox-related issues for the second time in 24 hours and ended up 37 laps off the pace by the finish, but Power's win means that Dixon wasn't able to maximise his advantage and to the Kiwi carries only a 25 point point lead into the season finale in two weeks time at Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, when it could have been significantly worse.

James Hinchcliffe joined Power and Dixon on the podium after pipping Justin Wilson to third place. Simon Pagenaud struggled to a seventh place finish on Sunday, which leaves him too far behind in the points to be able to contend for the title which means it's now a two-horse race between Dixon and Castroneves.

However the end of the race was overshadowed by a major crash in turn 5 which saw Dario Franchitti's car flipped up into the catchfence in a frightening high-speed accident. The three-time Indy 500 champion was removed from the wreck by the medical team and taken to a nearby Houston trauma centre with team boss Chip Ganassi optimistic that the driver was in fair shape having spoken to him briefly at the crash site.

Around 15 spectators in the grandstand were also reported to have received treatment for minor injuries sustained from flying debris that penetrated the catchfence during the accident. The other drivers involved in the accident - Takuma Sato and EJ Viso - were able to walk away from the scene without injury.

Race 2 results

1. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet 1hrs 52mins 28.9525secs after 90 laps
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda + 0.8286s
3. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet + 4.3629s
4. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda + 5.0234s
5. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet + 8.012s
6. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Honda + 11.0712s
7. #4 Oriol Servià Panther Chevrolet + 14.0815s
8. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda + 15.1566s
9. #18 Mike Conway Dale Coyne Honda + 15.5568s
10. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet + 31.3618s
11. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt Honda + 32.946s
12. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Chevrolet + 38.3799s
13. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR Honda + 1:19.5633s
14. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Honda + 1 laps
15. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda + 1 laps
16. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM Chevrolet + 1 laps
17. #16 James Jakes RLL Honda + 1 laps
18. #15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda + 2 laps
19. #98 Luca Filippi BHA Honda + 2 laps
20. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet + 2 laps
21. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet + 3 laps
22. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 29 laps Mechanical
23. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet + 37 laps
24. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet + 58 laps Contact

Fastest lap
#98 Luca Filippi BHA Honda 59.1215s 99.497mph on lap 86

Championship standings

1. Scott Dixon 546pts
2. Hélio Castroneves 521pts
3. Simon Pagenaud 491pts
4. Justin Wilson 460pts
5. Marco Andretti 457pts
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay 446pts
7. Will Power 444pts
8. Dario Franchitti 418pts
9. James Hinchcliffe 417pts
10. Charlie Kimball 406pts
11. Tony Kanaan 361pts
12. Sebastien Bourdais 351pts
13. EJ Viso 340pts
14. Josef Newgarden 338pts
15. Simona de Silvestro 338pts
16. Takuma Sato 309pts
17. Graham Rahal 304pts
18. Ed Carpenter 292pts
19. James Jakes 285pts
20. Tristan Vautier 257pts
21. Sebastian Saavedra 230pts
22. Oriol Servià 222pts
23. Mike Conway 185pts
24. Alex Tagliani 163pts
25. Ryan Briscoe 100pts
26. JR Hildebrand 93pts
27. Ana Beatriz 72pts
28. Carlos Muñoz 67pts
29. AJ Allmendinger 65pts
30. Luca Filippi 53pts
31. Pippa Mann 29pts
32. James Davison 27pts
33. Stefan Wilson 14pts
34. Conor Daly 11pts
35. Townsend Bell 10pts
36. Buddy Lazier 8pts
36. Lucas Luhr 8pts
36. Katherine Legge 8pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The start of race 2 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header on Sunday, October 6 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Dario Franchitti in action during race 2 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header on Sunday, October 6 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon, James Hinchcliffe and Will Power celebrate after race 2 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston double-header on Sunday, October 6 2013. (Photo Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.