IndyCar »

Indy 500: Race results

Results and times from the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the 'Greatest Spectacle in Motorsport.'
Hunter-Reay edges Castroneves in thrilling Indy 500

Race results

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda 2hrs 40mins 48.2305secs after 200 laps
2. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet + 0.06s
3. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda + 0.3171s
4. #34 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport - HVM Racing Honda + 0.7795s
5. #2 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet + 1.3233s
6. #26 Kurt Busch Andretti Autosport Honda + 2.2666s
7. #11 Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Chevrolet + 2.6576s
8. #12 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet + 2.8507s
9. #22 Sage Karam Dreyer and Reinbold–Kingdom Racing Chevrolet + 3.2848s
10. #21 JR Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet + 3.4704s
11. #16 Oriol Servia Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda + 4.1077s
12. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda + 4.5677s
13. #68 Alex Tagliani Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda + 7.6179s
14. #5 Jacques Villeneuve Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda + 8.177s
15. #17 Sebastian Saavedra KV AFS Racing Chevrolet + 8.5936s
16. #33 James Davison KV Racing Technology Chevrolet + 9.1043s
17. #18 Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda + 12.1541s
18. #8 Ryan Briscoe NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet + 13.3143s
19. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Racing Honda + 13.795s
20. #98 Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda + 13.8391s
21. #7 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda + 2 laps
22. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda + 2 laps
23. #41 Martin Plowman AJ Foyt Racing Honda + 4 laps
24. #63 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing Honda + 7 laps

#6 Townsend Bell KV Racing Technology Chevrolet + 10 laps Contact
#10 Tony Kanaan Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet + 23 laps Mechanical
#20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet + 25 laps Contact
#27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport Honda + 25 laps Contact
#9 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet + 33 laps Contact
#67 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda + 44 laps Contact
#83 Charlie Kimball Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet + 51 laps Contact
#91 Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Racing Chevrolet + 113 laps Mechanical
#15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda + 156 laps Electrical

Fastest Lap
#2 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet 225.191mph 39.9661s on lap 182

Championship standings

1. Ryan Hunter-Reay 274pts
2. Will Power 234pts
3. Hélio Castroneves 220pts
4. Simon Pagenaud 211pts
5. Marco Andretti 192pts
6. Carlos Muñoz 160pts
7. Juan Pablo Montoya 152pts
8. Sébastien Bourdais 143pts
9. Scott Dixon 132pts
10. Justin Wilson 123pts
11. Ryan Briscoe 121pts
12. Takuma Sato 113pts
13. Jack Hawksworth 113pts
14. Josef Newgarden 109pts
15. James Hinchcliffe 105pts
16. Tony Kanaan 104pts
17. Sebastian Saavedra 101pts
18. Mikhail Aleshin 96pts
19. Mike Conway 93pts
20. Carlos Huertas 93pts
21. Charlie Kimball 92pts
22. Oriol Servià 88pts
23. Kurt Busch 80pts
24. Graham Rahal 79pts
25. JR Hildebrand 66pts
26. Sage Karam 57pts
27. Ed Carpenter 53pts
28. James Davison 34pts
29. Jacques Villeneuve 29pts
30. Alex Tagliani 28pts
31. Townsend Bell 22pts
32. Pippa Mann 21pts
33. Martin Plowman 18pts
34. Buddy Lazier 11pts
35. Franck Montagny 8pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter-Reay and Jack Hawksworth (Photo by: Jim Haines for IndyCar Media)
The start of the Indianapolis 500 (Photo by: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Ryan Hunter-Reay wins the Indianapolis 500 (Photo by: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.