Helio Castroneves has a final chance to take his first Indycar series victory of the season and brighten a poor 2004 for his Marlboro Penske team after setting pole position for Sunday's Chevy 500 at Texas Speedway. Castroneves set a 215.996mph lap around the 1.5-mile oval, tying the track record se tin 1998, to claim his fourth successive pole. Joining him on the front row will be Tomas Scheckter in the Panther Racing Dallara while the second Penske car of Sam Hornish Jr occupies the inside of the second row alongside Vitor Meira's Rahal-Letterman G-Force. Newly crowned series champion Tony Kanaan starts 10th in his Andretti-Green Dallara.

The Chevy 500 gets underway at around 12.30pm Eastern Time on Sunday, that's 5.30pm in the UK. Check back to Crash.net for the full story.

Qualifying times, Chevy 500, Texas International Speedway, 2004 Indy Racing League round 16 of 16.

1. Helio Castroneves #3 Dallara Toyota Marlboro Team Penske 215.996mph
2. Tomas Scheckter #4 Dallara Chevrolet Panther Racing 215.831mph
3. Sam Hornish Jr #6 Dallara Toyota Marlboro Team Penske 215.097mph
4. Vitor Meira #17 G-Force Honda Rahal-Letterman Racing 214.316mph
5. Buddy Rice #15 G-Force Honda Team Rahal 214.194mph
6. Scott Dixon #1 G-Force Toyota Target Chip Ganassi Racing 213.954mph
7. Bryan Herta #7 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 213.675mph
8. Dan Wheldon #26 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 213.402mph
9. Dario Franchitti #27 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 213.219mph
10. Tony Kanaan #11 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 213.105mph
11. Alex Barron #51 Dallara Chevrolet Red Bull Cheever Racing 213.057mph
12. Adrian Fernandez #5 G Force HondaFernandez Racing 212.959mph
13. Townsend Bell #2 Dallara Chevrolet Panther Racing 212.939mph
14. AJ Foyt IV #14 Dallara Toyota AJ Foyt Enterprises 212.855mph
15. Kosuke Matsuura #55 G-Force Honda Super Aguri Fernandez Racing 212.713mph
16. Scott Sharp #8 Dallara Toyota Kelley Racing 212.558mph
17. Mark Taylor #13 G-Force Honda Access Motorsports 212.324mph
18. Tomas Enge #20 Dallara Chevrolet Partrick Racing 211.295mph
19. Tora Takagi #12 Dallara Toyota Mo Nunn Racing 211.284mph
20. Ed Carpenter #52 Dallara Chevrolet Red Bull Cheever Racing 210.852mph
21. Felipe Giaffone #24 Dallara Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 209.304mph


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment