1. Helio Castroneves Penske 1m 16.9027s
2. Ryan Briscoe Penske 1m 16.9185s
3. Will Power KVRT/Team Australia 1m 17.0875s
4. Tony Kanaan AGR 1m 17.1286s
5. Scott Dixon Ganassi 1m 17.6682s
6. Oriol Servia KVRT 1m 17.8377s
7. Justin Wilson NHLR 1m 17.0056s
8. Ryan Hunter-Reay Rahal Letterman 1m 17.0378s
9. Danica Patrick AGR 1m 17.0458s
10. Marco Andretti AGR 1m 17.2705s
11. Mario Dominguez Pacific Coast 1m 17.4614s
12. Mario Moraes Coyne 1m 17.5882s
13. Bruno Junqueira Coyne 1m 17.8306s
14. Ernesto Viso HVM 1m 17.4189s
15. Graham Rahal NHLR 1m 17.9012s
16. Dan Wheldon Ganassi 1m 17.4738s
17. Tomas Scheckter Luczo Dragon 1m 18.1238s
18. Vitor Meira Panther 1m 17.5399s
19. Townsend Bell Dreyer & Reinbold 1m 18.3267s
20. Hideki Mutoh AGR 1m 18.0038s
21. Darren Manning Foyt 1m 18.3885s
22. Buddy Rice Dreyer & Reinbold 1m 18.1139s
23. Ed Carpenter Vision 1m 18.4034s
24. AJ Foyt IV Vision 1m 18.3715s
25. Marty Roth Roth 1m 19.9435s
26. Jaime Camara Conquest 1m 19.4711s
27. Enrique Bernoldi Conquest no time

qualifying based on three-phase knock-out format, with field split into two group and top six in each progressing to 12-car group, again with top six progressing to Firestone Fast Six